![]() |
|
|
|||
I usually answer this question in terms of the player rather than the ball. People seem to have trouble distinguishing 2 cases:
1. Dribbler: the ball and both feet must be in the FC; until then, the ball has BC status. 2. Non-dribbler with ball: something in the FC and nothing in the BC; until then, the ball has BC status. The only other case is a ball in flight, which has the status of the last thing it touched.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Ruling? No I didnt start this 1 again! ![]()
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
Use the same scenario with the ball going OOB. If A3 is standing OOB and touches the ball befoe it hits OOB, A3 has committed the violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Oct 10, 2010 at 03:42pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
Quote:
By unilateral decree... Situation 10 still bothers me. Any thoughts on this play? New interps Sitch # 10 How's that for a start? ![]() |
|
|||
Sorry Coach ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Oct 06, 2010 at 06:01pm. |
|
|||
Misty Watercolor Memories Of The Way We Were.
It didn't always use to be that way on a throwin.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm in the Situation 10 interp camp ![]()
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Apples/Oranges. Causing the ball to obtain BC status is not the violation. The Situation 10 interp directly contradicts both the rule as it written as as it has been called forever.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I understand your position, but it works for me & until the guys I work for say otherwise...
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
||||
Quote:
The rule says team A must be the last to touch "before" the ball gains BC status and the first to touch the ball "after" it has gained BC status. Events: A: Team A is last to touch B: Ball gains BC status C: Team A is first to touch How is it possible for a single act (A3 touching the ball) to occur both "before" and "after" any single event?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Rules Rulz!(most of the time) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backcourt front court violation | furlu55 | Basketball | 31 | Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:58pm |
Front court status | tjchamp | Basketball | 4 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 02:48am |
Front court toot of whistle | Self | Basketball | 8 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 08:25pm |
Flying catch, front court or back | coachpig | Basketball | 3 | Fri Dec 05, 2003 11:16pm |
front or back court status? | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 5 | Tue Nov 07, 2000 04:08pm |