|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Just for the record, Zooch, Scrappy is a very knowledgable and level-headed rules interpreter and a more than competent official at all levels also. Very rarely do I disagree with him on anything. We do disagree completely on this one but I am trying to see where he is coming from and why. He sureashell ain't "Old School" but he does have his shortcomings.   | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I wish we could post diagrams on this thing (and not just online images), but let's try this... A1 is the airborne shooter. B2 is the defender. Point X is the spot on the floor where A1 takes off; point Y is where A1 lands. The resulting airborne "path" is line XY. When A1 leaves the floor, B2 has obtained LGP next to XY. Before A1 lands, B2 maintains LGP by moving laterally into XY. Scrapper, does this illustrate your point? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 B1 didn't obtain LGP NEXT to anybody. B1 obtained LGP in FRONT of A1. In a1's DIRECT path. At NO time in the situation being discussed did the defender EVER move LATERALLY. Laterally means sideways. At ALL times, the defender was moving straight BACKWARDS. There's a big difference. XY is a straight-line path going backwards. B1 was never next to XY. B1 was always somewhere on XY. And B1 was moving from X to Y before A1 took off. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 29, 2010 at 05:19pm. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Ok, this has been a kind of entertaining discussion. Fwiw, I actually see and understand Scrappy's point about the defender arriving at the spot where the airborne player will land. We all agree that according to 4-23-4(b), the defender must be in the "landing spot" (legal position) before the airborne player leaves the floor. I think we are all in agreement in that. His point is that it appears, within a strict reading of the rules, it does not provide any specific protection if that airborne player will land behind the defender, if the defender is still moving and not in the "landing spot" before the airborne player left the floor. I agree with the practical application that it will be a PC or incidental contact in that specific instance. But, if I was discussing a literal interpretation of the rules, I cannot come up with any reason why one rule of guarding (defender has the right to move laterally or obliquely) "overrides" another rule (defender must obtain the spot before the airborne player leaves the floor). 
				__________________ M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Quote: 
 That's the scenario up for discussion. Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jun 29, 2010 at 06:31pm. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Signed, Epstein's Mother ...
			 
			
			Juan didn't know that there would be geometry problems on the Forum today. May Juan please be excused?
		 
				__________________ "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Betelgeuse, Betelgeuse, Betelgeuse ...
			 
			
			Let's be careful here. You said "Old School" once. That's OK. Just don't say it three times in a row. Please. 
				__________________ "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 I know Scrappy is a knowledgable contributer. I am just entertained that this thread doesn't want to die.   | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Player Control and Team Control fouls | MelbRef | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm | 
| Player Control or Block | regs1234 | Basketball | 10 | Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:01pm | 
| Block/Charge/Player Control? | RookieDude | Basketball | 16 | Sun Dec 29, 2002 06:02pm | 
| Player Control or Block? | Sleeper | Basketball | 16 | Sun Nov 24, 2002 02:30pm | 
| Player control or no call? | Kelly Spann | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 22, 1999 09:15am |