![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
2) And the problem remains that the defender did nothing to lose that legal position on the court by simply falling straight backwards under any rule that I am aware of. 3) Is the defender moving under the airborne shooter or is the airborne shooting jumping into/onto a defender who is falling backwards? We all know that the defender can't move laterally or forward under an airborne shooter, but there's nothing stating that he can't fall backward. The act of "turning" to absorb the contact is legal, and that act will usually move the defender backwards slightly too n'est-ce-pas? |
|
|||
Apologies To Gomez Addams ...
"Jurassic Referee! I just love it when you speak French!"
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
No matter how you phrase the question, the answer is that after the ballhandler becomes airborne, the defender moves to the spot where the airborne player will land. Again, I cannot believe that it is the intent of the rules to allow this. Once that player becomes airborne, no one can move into that player's landing spot.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Logic is meaningless when rules are involved. One has nothing to do with the other. And one man's logic doesn't necessarily equate to another man's logic either. Mehinks you need to insert the word "opinion" instead of "logic". You and Scrappy are giving your opinion; that's a heckuva big difference than the way that the rules actually read. And if either of you think that really you do have rules backing, feel free to cite the germane rules. |
|
|||
Quote:
No matter how you phase the question, the ballhandler became airborne after the defender started moving straight backwards and jumped into/onto the defender. The rules do not allow us to call a block because by rule the defender has not done anything illegal. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 29, 2010 at 10:50am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Nobody, including me, is saying that the defender has to start moving toward his spot on the floor before the offensive player becomes airborne. My entire point in this thread is that, in order to have legal position at the time of contact with an airborne player, the defensive player must get to that position before the player became airborne. I couldn't care less when he started moving. That's completely irrelevant. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
(1) Defender sets. Shooter jumps. Defender doesn't move. Shooter crashes into defender.
JR: PC Scrapper: PC (2) Defender sets. Shooter jumps. Defender takes a step back. Shooter crashes into defender. JR: PC Scrapper: block Do I have that right?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Based on the posted evidence, "yes".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Now you should have it right. The defender was never set, as in set "motionless". The defender was set in a legal position on the court at all times by rule imo though. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Player Control and Team Control fouls | MelbRef | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm |
Player Control or Block | regs1234 | Basketball | 10 | Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:01pm |
Block/Charge/Player Control? | RookieDude | Basketball | 16 | Sun Dec 29, 2002 06:02pm |
Player Control or Block? | Sleeper | Basketball | 16 | Sun Nov 24, 2002 02:30pm |
Player control or no call? | Kelly Spann | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 22, 1999 09:15am |