Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
1) Read the portion I quoted in my OP. I agree with you, based upon the description of the play, that the post player did not violate NFHS R4-S24-A8 (and NCAA R4-S36-A7), but that does not absolve him of an infraction of the rules if he pivots and makes illegal contact with a defensive player who has a legal position on the court relative to the post player.
2) Let us look at the following play. Your teammate attempts a jump shot which he misses and I sky above everybody else (I am laughing so hard right now I can hardly type) and grab the rebound. You are standing behind and slightly to the side of me. I pivot as described in the play we are discussing and my elbow hits you in the chest and displaces you. I have committed a pushing foul and thus a player control foul. I did not swing my elbows excessively, but I fouled you none-the-less.
|
And that's where I still completely disagree with you, Mark. From Hornet's original description, I can find NO evidence that the player with the ball made any
illegal contact or that the defender did have a
legal position on the court. The way that I read it, it was a
legal pivot followed by contact. I'm sureasheck not aware of any rule that will allow us to call a foul on any player for making a
legal pivot. If you know one, feel free to point it out. Tell me...what exactly did the player with the ball do that was
illegal by rule according to Hornet's description?
2) If the player in your #2 above pivots with the ball in a normal fashion without swinging his elbow excessively or extending his elbow abnormally outside out of the usual allowed space, you have
NO rules justification to call a foul on that player if contact occurs on that defender. And if you think that you do, cite me a rule, case play, etc. that will back it up. Neither NFHS 4-24-8 or NCAA 4-36-7 does that imo.