![]() |
|
|||
Eli, after that last post, I realized I was just being lazy, so I went and dug the books out of my bag. And I found something interesting. The play in question is discussed in play #80 in the Q&A:
Quote:
Additionally, if you read the dribbling definition (Rule 4, Section III), then the play we're discussing perfectly fits the definition of a legal dribble. "A dribble is movement of the ball, caused by a player in control, who throws or taps the ball into the air or to the floor". So far, that's exactly what you described in the initial post. "The dribble ends when the dribbler: (1) Touches the ball simultaneiously with both hands." And that describes how the play ended. So by the definitions of dribbling and traveling, there's no violation that I can see. Yet the Q&A clearly says that it's traveling. Am I missing something obvious, or is the Q&A ruling simply an ad hoc rule change? Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
Bookmarks |
|
|