View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 18, 2002, 12:19pm
eroe39 eroe39 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 90
Re: The issue I see is ...


Chuck, ad hoc, wow, never heard of that. Anyway, I can't give you a good answer for why it is in the casebook but not the rulebook, there is a lot of stuff in our casebook that is not in the rulebook, go figure.
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
The Q&A play #80 you describe says the play is legal. What it says is illegal is to catch the ball and then start a dribble. To me that is double dribble. However, if the throw over the opponent's head was caught on a fly (without the ball bouncing) I would have a travel violation because I cannot image this play without both feet moving in order to catch the ball on a fly. Maybe that is what the book means when it said: "Should he catch the ball, he would be guilty of a traveling violation for passing the ball to himself."
Ref in P.A., whether it is a pass that touches the floor or a pass that is caught on the fly, anytime a player then grabs it or catches it it is a traveling violation. Now if the player runs up to the ball and starts his dribble with it by batting it that is OK. We have had several conversations in our meetings in the past about this. I can understand why you might think that from #80 but just focus on the last sentence, "Should he catch the ball, he would be guilty of a traveling violation for passing the ball to himself."
__________________
eli roe
Reply With Quote