The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Which is the erroneous free throw?

Nearly had an unusual correctable error situation in a game tonight, and it got me thinking about how to correct it.

A1 is fouled on a shot, basket goes. Before administering the free throw, B1 is assessed a T. A1 is designated to shoot the T free throws as well. While I'm answering B2's question about the shooting foul, my partner erroneously awards two free throws for the foul. As we're about the administer the fourth free throw the potential mistake is brought to our attention.

What if we had shot the fourth free throw? To make it more interesting, what if the shooter had made the first two free throws, and missed the second two? That becomes important when you consider how to correct the error. In particular, was the second free throw the erroneously awarded one? Or was the fourth one the culprit? So would we take a point off the board or not?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 12:40am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
which rule set?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 12:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Nfhs
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 12:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Then I'd say your 2nd free throw was the erroneous one; although I'd likely allow the coach to keep all three and simply not give the last free throw.

If you give him all 4, and he make the first two and misses the 2nd two, they lose a point, IMO. This one would suck, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 12:58am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Don't you guys indicate T when you start to shoot the free throws for the T in this situation, making sure who the shooter is to be? This would make it obvious that the second free throw was the unmerited one.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 01:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Don't you guys indicate T when you start to shoot the free throws for the T in this situation, making sure who the shooter is to be? This would make it obvious that the second free throw was the unmerited one.
No, but I do indicate "one" or "two" or "three" to the shooter for the PF shots. Then, I'll verify the shooter for the TF shots; this is done very imformally. If the same player shoots, then I think the pause was sufficient to ensure it's the desired shooter. the pause also differentiates between the shots.

All that said, I'm assuming for the sake of discussion that these steps weren't taken.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 06:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaqwells View Post
then i'd say your 2nd free throw was the erroneous one; although i'd likely allow the coach to keep all three and simply not give the last free throw.

If you give him all 4, and he make the first two and misses the 2nd two, they lose a point, imo. This one would suck, imo.
+1
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
I was under the impression that as long as the clock had not started, even though the ball became live when handed to the shooter, any CE can be corrected at that point. I would think the second free throw for the original foul was unmerited, and if made, should be taken off the score. The Technical fouls should have no bearing at all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 133
Correctable Error

Let's make it a little more interesting...if the criteria for a correctable error is Live-Dead-Live....then when the ball is given to the free thrower for the first FT it is live...once the FT is over it is dead...when handed to him for the second the ball is again live.....now what?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Then I'd say your 2nd free throw was the erroneous one; although I'd likely allow the coach to keep all three and simply not give the last free throw.

If you give him all 4, and he make the first two and misses the 2nd two, they lose a point, IMO. This one would suck, IMO.
I agree. Had there been a different shooter for the T free throws, it would have been really obvious which was the erroneous free throw. That the same shooter shot both sets of free throws doesn't change that. So if we had shot the fourth, we would have had to wipe off the second to correct the error.

Ultimately we awarded the correct total number of free throws, and the right player shot each at the correct basket. Any argument that we still committed a CE (and the only such argument may be coming from one of the voices in my own head) is rooted in the premise that the details of administering official's mental bookkeeping, which columns he records each free throw under, matter more than the bottom line. However, the weight his mental accounting carries probably increases directly in proportion to how widely he communicated the details. IOW, if everybody in the building heard him tell the shooter that he had two free throws for the first foul, then the bottom line argument becomes less compelling.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Fri Mar 26, 2010 at 11:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCAAREF View Post
Let's make it a little more interesting...if the criteria for a correctable error is Live-Dead-Live....then when the ball is given to the free thrower for the first FT it is live...once the FT is over it is dead...when handed to him for the second the ball is again live.....now what?
Since the criteria also includes the clock properly starting before the Live-Dead-Live scenario, it wouldn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCAAREF View Post
Let's make it a little more interesting...if the criteria for a correctable error is Live-Dead-Live....then when the ball is given to the free thrower for the first FT it is live...once the FT is over it is dead...when handed to him for the second the ball is again live.....now what?
But, that is NOT the criteria for a correctable error...the first live ball must also coincide with the clock running...and that doesn't occur during a FT.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Erroneous info Ch1town Basketball 47 Sat Apr 05, 2008 09:27pm
erroneous double bonus MPLAHE Basketball 1 Mon Jul 17, 2006 03:23pm
Erroneous Infield Fly Call whistleone Softball 5 Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:10pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1