The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 04, 2010, 02:52pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
Another thing to consider on this if AI was fouled as he shot (threw) the ball at the wrong basket. If the ball goes in, I believe, the basket does not count since the foul causes the ball to immediately become dead. If he misses the shot, he gets it out of bounds nearest the spot of the foul (unless they are in the bonus).

Whether he misses or if the ball goes in, designated throw-in at the spot nearest the foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 07:41am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Just Checking ???

A1 receives a pass in his backcourt. For some reason A1 gets confused and throws a set shot toward the wrong basket, never lifting his pivot foot off the floor. The ball clangs and bounces around the basket and backboard, and finally falls fall off the rim and bounces on the floor. A1, with one hand, taps the ball the the ground and keeps on dribbling, now in the right direction. Legal? Right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 08:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
a set shot toward the wrong basket, never lifting his pivot foot off the floor.
I believe this is key... never thought of it before. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
BillyMac, I would say that would be a legal play. The "set shot" would be the start of the dribble, and since they continued the dribble when the ball hit the floor and did not catch and start a NEW dribble - what you described is an illegal dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
And if a player attempts a jump shot at the wrong basket and gets their own rebound, it's a violation because the dribble was started with the pivot foot off the ground, right?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutupneff View Post
And if a player attempts a jump shot at the wrong basket and gets their own rebound, it's a violation because
It's a violation because the pronoun doesn't agree with the antecedent.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's a violation because the pronoun doesn't agree with the antecedent.
Boo! Hiss!






[HEDGE BET]Just in case you weren't being jocular, I was just trying to keep it gender neutral[/HEDGE BET]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong basket Ch1town Basketball 20 Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:26am
Wrong basket Vinski Basketball 14 Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:23am
wrong basket CK Basketball 16 Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:52pm
Wrong Basket Tweet Basketball 4 Sun Jan 11, 2004 11:29pm
Wrong Basket? Riley1996 Basketball 15 Mon Mar 04, 2002 06:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1