The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 09:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
By facing them with two feet on the floor AND by giving them space to land.

If A2 landed on B2, then it's a block. IF A2 landed and THEN crashed into B2, it's a charge.
Which means LGP isn't established until A2 is no longer airborne.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Which means LGP isn't established until A2 is no longer airborne.
Disagree.

LGP can be obtained on an airborne player. But, the "spots" on the court where such a position in LGP are fewer than when the player is not airborne.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Which means LGP isn't established until A2 is no longer airborne.
I agree with Bob: the specification of how to obtain LGP does not require that the opponent be in contact with the court.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I agree with Bob: the specification of how to obtain LGP does not require that the opponent be in contact with the court.
We're discussing a specific play here. In this specific play it doesn't matter where the defender is when A1 is airborne...it matters where the defender is when A1 lands. B1 can dance an Irish jig while A1 is airborne.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:32am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
We're discussing a specific play here. In this specific play it doesn't matter where the defender is when A1 is airborne...it matters where the defender is when A1 lands. B1 can dance an Irish jig while A1 is airborne.
While he can't gain LGP within the flight path of A1, he can certainly gain LGP one inch beyond that path.

The OP still hasn't cleared up whether B1 established LGP prior to A2 leaving the floor, or after.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
While he can't gain LGP within the flight path of A1, he can certainly gain LGP one inch beyond that path.

The OP still hasn't cleared up whether B1 established LGP prior to A2 leaving the floor, or after.
Which is why I'm drawing out this conversation:

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer
... while in the air A2 caught the ball with B1 gaining legal guarding position and before A2 landed he crashed into B1...
How did B1 gain LGP while A2 was airborne if A2 crashed into B1 before landing?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
How did B1 gain LGP while A2 was airborne if A2 crashed into B1 before landing?
I agree, which is why I asked the question initially. I'm basing the ambiguity on the fact that he was asking about time and distance.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:53am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I agree, which is why I asked the question initially. I'm basing the ambiguity on the fact that he was asking about time and distance.
Agreed about "time and distance" not being a factor here.

But in this specific play we don't know for sure if defender has LGP until airborne player either crashes before landing or lands before crashing.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Which is why I'm drawing out this conversation:



How did B1 gain LGP while A2 was airborne if A2 crashed into B1 before landing?
In that specific example, he didn't.

That wasn't what I was responding to.

The thread also included comments about landing and then crashing, and you said it was impossible to establish LGP until landing. My response is specifically to that statement.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 12:35pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In that specific example, he didn't.

That wasn't what I was responding to.

The thread also included comments about landing and then crashing, and you said it was impossible to establish LGP until landing. My response is specifically to that statement.
What B1 was doing while A2 is airborne is irrelevent. It's the fact that B1 had LGP when A2 landed that is relevent. That's basically my point.

The OP stated that B1 established LGP while A2 was airborne but that A2 crashed into B1 before landing. With all the back-and-forth, that very important snippet of the post was not addressed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:41am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Last night we had a play where the home coach wasn't pleased with the call, but I know it was the right one.

B22 goes up for a rebound. He skies, get the ball, and A4 slides just enough under him so when B22 lands he hits A4's leg (which is outside his torso) and stumbles to the floor. I immediately call a foul on A4. Coach asked how it was a foul after I reported and went tableside. Simple reply: "He's gotta let him land there."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/Charge? APG Basketball 122 Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:53pm
Block/Charge IREFU2 Basketball 28 Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
charge/block rule toby Basketball 21 Wed Apr 28, 2004 05:00pm
Block - Charge (consider this) footlocker Basketball 35 Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1