Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer
Our situation the other night had A1 throwing the ball on an inbounds in the backcourt. He threw the ball in the air and while in the air A2 caught the ball with B1 gaining legal guarding position and before A2 landed he crashed into B1. My question comes with do you have to give time and distance when player A2 left the floor without the ball. Or when he gains possession in the air you no longer have to give time and distance?
|
Time and distance are not required, by rule, when guarding the player with the ball. How long he had had the ball isn't relevant.
What is relevant and unclear, however, is whether B1 got to his spot prior to A2 going airborne. Once A2 is airborne, B1 cannot gain LGP within the airborne path of A2.