The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradfordwilkins View Post
I don't think anyone here would advocate a blocking call... or even a no call here.

The question is push or pc.
I don't know are you sure the defender had his feet planted?


KIDDING!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:27pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
I know where the drive started, but the person with the perfect angle on the push/no push *and* the PC foul is the C. The C could easily get this. Gotta say, unless this is a real push that displaces (and not merely a little bump from behind) it's a PC foul (at least in my mind).

In a lot of my 3-person pregames this season, we've talked about who is going to step up on a foul in the lower half of the lane where the drive is right down the lane (like this). Most of us feel the L/C has a much better look than the T, who seems a long way away from this play. Of course the response of the official depends on whether they focus on men's or women's mechanics (if they work college ball, too). I really don't work either, and I think the L has a better chance to referee a secondary defender or even a defender that comes up from the baseline. OMMV (and does).

I wonder if the C pulled back because of how strong you came in here. To me, the message on an official coming in *this* strong can be "I've got something important to add here", right or wrong.

Good video. If possible, could you leave a few more seconds on either end of these calls (maybe 5 before and 5 after)?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post

Good video. If possible, could you leave a few more seconds on either end of these calls (maybe 5 before and 5 after)?
How about some transistions and zoom ins (like NBCEE it). Also some color commentary would be great. Clark, you have set the bar high, but it can go higher. Climb man, climb.

Oh yeah freeze frames could be useful too.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 88
We're making it too hard. It really doesn't matter what caused what. There is a foul from behind (that he landed on him is a dead giveaway) and there is a player control charge. Foul from behind ball is still live; PC ball becomes dead immediately. False double. Shoot 2 shots with an empty lane and give it to the defense for a throw-in.

The rules don't give us the leeway for what caused what. Live ball-dead ball is pretty much what we have to work with. That the player crashed the defender with a live ball is of little doubt. When the foul from behind happened (my POV is that it happened prior to the crash) is the only thing debatable. Just because he was fouled doesn't give him a free lick at the defender. OTOH, if the PC occurred first, the rear defender got lucky with a free crash.

False double. But you guys will be the only 3 in the gym that have a clue about what's going on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchor View Post
We're making it too hard. It really doesn't matter what caused what. There is a foul from behind (that he landed on him is a dead giveaway) and there is a player control charge. Foul from behind ball is still live; PC ball becomes dead immediately. False double. Shoot 2 shots with an empty lane and give it to the defense for a throw-in.

The rules don't give us the leeway for what caused what. Live ball-dead ball is pretty much what we have to work with. That the player crashed the defender with a live ball is of little doubt. When the foul from behind happened (my POV is that it happened prior to the crash) is the only thing debatable. Just because he was fouled doesn't give him a free lick at the defender. OTOH, if the PC occurred first, the rear defender got lucky with a free crash.

False double. But you guys will be the only 3 in the gym that have a clue about what's going on.
Just to get your thoughts on a similar false double scenario: what if shooter A1 is going straight up and has defender B1 with LGP to his side. Defender B2 pushes A1 from the side opposite B1. Obvious foul on B2.

Now, the ball is still live and the push from B2 causes A1 to displace and fall on top of B1. What's your call?

IMO, there is no real difference between the OP and my scenario other than your judgement that in the OP the offensive player would have committed the PC regardless of the push...and in that case, the push really didn't put him at any disadvantage, did it?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 07:51am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
what if shooter A1 is going straight up and has defender B1 with LGP to his side.
How can B1 have a legal guarding position to the side of A1?

Gaurding is defined as a defender legally placing their body in the path of an offensive player.

B1 can have a legal position to the side of A1, but not a legal guarding position.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
How can B1 have a legal guarding position to the side of A1?
A1's side is toward the basket.

That said, poor choice of words on my part. Just wanted to spur some discussion of when you would actually call both fouls. I agree they can happen. But it's important to be able to clearly demonstrate that a PC foul would have happened regardless and that a push still wasn't incidental if you want to call both.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Just to get your thoughts on a similar false double scenario: what if shooter A1 is going straight up and has defender B1 with LGP to his side. Defender B2 pushes A1 from the side opposite B1. Obvious foul on B2.

Now, the ball is still live and the push from B2 causes A1 to displace and fall on top of B1. What's your call?

IMO, there is no real difference between the OP and my scenario other than your judgement that in the OP the offensive player would have committed the PC regardless of the push...and in that case, the push really didn't put him at any disadvantage, did it?
IMO you have to look at it as two completely separate acts. If the push from behind put the shooter at a disadvantage without regard to the defender in his path then you have a push on the defense. If you also judge that the player was crashing into the defender regardless of the push then you also have PC, but I would treat them separately.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:40am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
IMO you have to look at it as two completely separate acts. If the push from behind put the shooter at a disadvantage without regard to the defender in his path then you have a push on the defense. If you also judge that the player was crashing into the defender regardless of the push then you also have PC, but I would treat them separately.
And if A1 is pushed, I'm 99.94315313413% certain I'll judge the push to have caused the crash. If not, I'm 85% certain I'll judge the "push" to be incidental contact.

Now I'll review the video.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Just to get your thoughts on a similar false double scenario: what if shooter A1 is going straight up and has defender B1 with LGP to his side. Defender B2 pushes A1 from the side opposite B1. Obvious foul on B2.

Now, the ball is still live and the push from B2 causes A1 to displace and fall on top of B1. What's your call?

IMO, there is no real difference between the OP and my scenario other than your judgement that in the OP the offensive player would have committed the PC regardless of the push...and in that case, the push really didn't put him at any disadvantage, did it?
If you actually felt that the push caused the PC crash you could easily treat that crash as incidental. In the scenario of the OP vid, there is nothing incidental about the PC crash. The defender probably fouled from behind. The PC was gonna happen with or without that help. Ball is live, call them both.

Without taking all judgment out of the game, we still got to remember that the pertinent tools we have to work with are live ball, dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchor View Post
If you actually felt that the push caused the PC crash you could easily treat that crash as incidental. In the scenario of the OP vid, there is nothing incidental about the PC crash. The defender probably fouled from behind. The PC was gonna happen with or without that help. Ball is live, call them both.
You suggest both fouls be called? So we go double foul?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:47am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
From the camera angle, this looks like a clear PC to me. The contact from the would-be shot blocker is incidental on this play due to the PC foul.

If there was a push that caused the crash, go with the push; I just can't see that from the angle of the camera.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 01:10am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
How about some transistions and zoom ins (like NBCEE it). Also some color commentary would be great. Clark, you have set the bar high, but it can go higher. Climb man, climb.

Oh yeah freeze frames could be useful too.
My point is that leaving a few more seconds lets the play develop more and makes it easier for viewing. But I like seeing the videos regardless.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
My point is that leaving a few more seconds lets the play develop more and makes it easier for viewing. But I like seeing the videos regardless.
I was just making a joke. I completely agree with you.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Push? soclueless Basketball 14 Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:34am
push with ball just another ref Basketball 14 Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:12pm
Push causes travel? mplagrow Basketball 7 Tue Mar 04, 2003 10:51am
Push-ups TriggerMN Basketball 46 Sat Feb 22, 2003 02:46am
Push from behind J_Biz Lacrosse 1 Thu Apr 19, 2001 03:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1