The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 122
Throw in

NFHS

Spot throw in for team A. A1 winds up for a long baseball pass, but the ball slips out of his hand and bounces about 8 feet to his side. 7-6-3 says this is a throw in violation because he'd have to leave the spot to retreive the ball(unless he had really long arms). What if this happened after a made basket on the end line. Would he be allowed to recover the loose ball and still inbound it providing the 5 second count hadn't elapsed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
NFHS

Spot throw in for team A. A1 winds up for a long baseball pass, but the ball slips out of his hand and bounces about 8 feet to his side. 7-6-3 says this is a throw in violation because he'd have to leave the spot to retreive the ball(unless he had really long arms). What if this happened after a made basket on the end line. Would he be allowed to recover the loose ball and still inbound it providing the 5 second count hadn't elapsed?
Absolutely...In fact if he looses it directly backward, he can retrieve is on a spot throw in as well.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
NFHS

Spot throw in for team A. A1 winds up for a long baseball pass, but the ball slips out of his hand and bounces about 8 feet to his side. 7-6-3 says this is a throw in violation because he'd have to leave the spot to retreive the ball(unless he had really long arms). What if this happened after a made basket on the end line. Would he be allowed to recover the loose ball and still inbound it providing the 5 second count hadn't elapsed?
Remember that even after a made basket, the player can not go past the sideline extended. Don't recall the exact rule for reference.
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
NFHS

7-6-3 says this is a throw in violation because he'd have to leave the spot to retreive the ball(unless he had really long arms).
That's not what 7-6-3 says: it's NOT a violation for the ball to bounce away from the throw-in spot.

It IS a violation for the thrower to leave the spot to retrieve it, or to allow 5 seconds to elapse before the ball crosses the plane on a pass into the court.

If the ball bounces away during a spot throw-in you have to wait for the violation to occur. The defense might help them out, for example, by reaching across and contacting the ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
NFHS

A1 winds up for a long baseball pass, but the ball slips out of his hand

If I can possibly do so, I'm going to judge that this was a throw-in pass (a poor one, to be sure) and have a violation for the pass not going directly inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If I can possibly do so, I'm going to judge that this was a throw-in pass (a poor one, to be sure) and have a violation for the pass not going directly inbounds.
Stole my thunder. Ditto.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
This is (unfortunately) NOT a violation in NCAA:

NCAA
A.R. 178. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?
RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/her whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall readminister the throw-in.
(Rule 4-31.1 and 7-6.5)


NFHS
*9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble.
RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for leaving the designated spot.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 03:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
They want us to call a violation on the shooter when, during a free throw, the shooter loses the ball (after having control) and it bounces away so that he cannot retrieve it. They do not want us to pass go (wait for 5 seconds or for a timeout by the throwin team), they want us to go directly to the violation.

Other than being a free throw instead of a throw in, how is this different? The concept seems the same to me.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Throw in MidMadness Basketball 11 Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:41pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Tag, no tag, throw to first FUBLUE Softball 12 Mon May 17, 2004 08:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1