![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If I can possibly do so, I'm going to judge that this was a throw-in pass (a poor one, to be sure) and have a violation for the pass not going directly inbounds. |
|
|||
Stole my thunder. Ditto.
|
|
|||
This is (unfortunately) NOT a violation in NCAA:
NCAA A.R. 178. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation? RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/her whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall readminister the throw-in. (Rule 4-31.1 and 7-6.5) NFHS *9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for leaving the designated spot. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
Throw in | MidMadness | Basketball | 11 | Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:41pm |
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |
Tag, no tag, throw to first | FUBLUE | Softball | 12 | Mon May 17, 2004 08:37pm |