The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Question: T on throw-in

Situation:

Boys JV, NF rules. 4th quarter, tied game (not that it should matter).

A1 is inbounding the ball from his backcourt endline; team B is in full-court press. B1 is shadowing the ball at the throw-in spot. A1 releases the ball to pass onto the floor, B1 deflects it out of bounds.

Official calls T on B1, awards team A 2 shots and the ball. Official explains that B1 touched the ball (in the air) over the plane of the endline. (From my vantage, B1 touched the ball when it had legally crossed the plane, but that was the explanation).

My question: Is this a T (using the official's version) and, if not, what is it?

9-2-10 reads:
Quote:
If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required.
In this case - even if the player "reached through the plane" and touched the ball, there is no dispute that it was no longer in possession of the thrower, so is it still a T?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
From the way you tell it, the official doesn't know the rule.

Now, if the defender's hand was over the line before it was released, he could perhaps call the DOG violation (and even a T if it was not the first DOG of the game).

Question: Was it a spot throwin? If not, was A1 throwing to a teammate OOB along that endline? If so, it would be a T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,001
This is not a T.

The only time you can call a T once the ball is released is if it's after a made basket, the ball is inside the throw-in plane and it's being passed to a team mate inside the throw-in plane.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
From the way you tell it, the official doesn't know the rule.

Now, if the defender's hand was over the line before it was released, he could perhaps call the DOG violation (and even a T if it was not the first DOG of the game).
Ball had clearly been released; there was no previous DOG warning. Official definitely called a T for touching the ball over the plane (not DOG).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Question: Was it a spot throwin? If not, was A1 throwing to a teammate OOB along that endline? If so, it would be a T.
I honestly don't recall if it was a spot throw-in or if it was following a made basket, but A1 was definitely passing to a teammate inbounds (in fact, the deflected ball went out over the sideline.)

Thanks for the clarifications!

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT View Post
Situation:

Boys JV, NF rules. 4th quarter, tied game (not that it should matter).

A1 is inbounding the ball from his backcourt endline; team B is in full-court press. B1 is shadowing the ball at the throw-in spot. A1 releases the ball to pass onto the floor, B1 deflects it out of bounds.

Official calls T on B1, awards team A 2 shots and the ball. Official explains that B1 touched the ball (in the air) over the plane of the endline. (From my vantage, B1 touched the ball when it had legally crossed the plane, but that was the explanation).

My question: Is this a T (using the official's version) and, if not, what is it?

9-2-10 reads:


In this case - even if the player "reached through the plane" and touched the ball, there is no dispute that it was no longer in possession of the thrower, so is it still a T?

Thanks in advance!
The official incorrectly enforced the NCAA rule, which requires the defender to wait until the ball breaks the boundary plane before touching it. The NFHS rule allows the defender to break the plane of the end line immediately after the throw-in pass is released.

9-2-10 is the NFHS rule citation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in question ripcord51 Basketball 4 Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:57am
Throw in question sj Basketball 22 Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:48am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Throw-In Question Husker John Basketball 1 Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:44pm
Throw in question... footlocker Basketball 3 Wed Mar 03, 2004 06:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1