The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Question: T on throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56703-question-t-throw.html)

JoeT Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:28pm

Question: T on throw-in
 
Situation:

Boys JV, NF rules. 4th quarter, tied game (not that it should matter).

A1 is inbounding the ball from his backcourt endline; team B is in full-court press. B1 is shadowing the ball at the throw-in spot. A1 releases the ball to pass onto the floor, B1 deflects it out of bounds.

Official calls T on B1, awards team A 2 shots and the ball. Official explains that B1 touched the ball (in the air) over the plane of the endline. (From my vantage, B1 touched the ball when it had legally crossed the plane, but that was the explanation).

My question: Is this a T (using the official's version) and, if not, what is it?

9-2-10 reads:
Quote:

If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required.
In this case - even if the player "reached through the plane" and touched the ball, there is no dispute that it was no longer in possession of the thrower, so is it still a T?

Thanks in advance!

Adam Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:30pm

From the way you tell it, the official doesn't know the rule.

Now, if the defender's hand was over the line before it was released, he could perhaps call the DOG violation (and even a T if it was not the first DOG of the game).

Question: Was it a spot throwin? If not, was A1 throwing to a teammate OOB along that endline? If so, it would be a T.

fiasco Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:32pm

This is not a T.

The only time you can call a T once the ball is released is if it's after a made basket, the ball is inside the throw-in plane and it's being passed to a team mate inside the throw-in plane.

JoeT Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 655320)
From the way you tell it, the official doesn't know the rule.

Now, if the defender's hand was over the line before it was released, he could perhaps call the DOG violation (and even a T if it was not the first DOG of the game).

Ball had clearly been released; there was no previous DOG warning. Official definitely called a T for touching the ball over the plane (not DOG).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 655320)
Question: Was it a spot throwin? If not, was A1 throwing to a teammate OOB along that endline? If so, it would be a T.

I honestly don't recall if it was a spot throw-in or if it was following a made basket, but A1 was definitely passing to a teammate inbounds (in fact, the deflected ball went out over the sideline.)

Thanks for the clarifications!

Joe

Nevadaref Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeT (Post 655319)
Situation:

Boys JV, NF rules. 4th quarter, tied game (not that it should matter).

A1 is inbounding the ball from his backcourt endline; team B is in full-court press. B1 is shadowing the ball at the throw-in spot. A1 releases the ball to pass onto the floor, B1 deflects it out of bounds.

Official calls T on B1, awards team A 2 shots and the ball. Official explains that B1 touched the ball (in the air) over the plane of the endline. (From my vantage, B1 touched the ball when it had legally crossed the plane, but that was the explanation).

My question: Is this a T (using the official's version) and, if not, what is it?

9-2-10 reads:


In this case - even if the player "reached through the plane" and touched the ball, there is no dispute that it was no longer in possession of the thrower, so is it still a T?

Thanks in advance!

The official incorrectly enforced the NCAA rule, which requires the defender to wait until the ball breaks the boundary plane before touching it. The NFHS rule allows the defender to break the plane of the end line immediately after the throw-in pass is released.

9-2-10 is the NFHS rule citation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1