The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 01:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
Question

Can a player dribble a ball while out of bounds on a throw in? The question is about the thrower. What if the dribble touches inbounds?

Instinct tells me that this is legal so long has he does not leave his spot (on a designated throw in). Once the dribble touches inbounds, it's a violation on the retouch. Please help with the rule or case book here.

Thanks.
__________________
"referee the defense"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 01:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Something tells me there isn't anything that says you can't, except the wording of the throw in rule (sorry for inablity to get exact wording - posting from work - no book). Doesn't it say something to the effect of the thrower has 5 seconds to release the ball so that it enters the inbounds area of the court??? If it does (or at least to that effect) then a dribble would be releasing it so that it doesn't enter the playing area. Just a thought
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 02:13am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
Can a player dribble a ball while out of bounds on a throw in? The question is about the thrower. What if the dribble touches inbounds?

Instinct tells me that this is legal so long has he does not leave his spot (on a designated throw in). Once the dribble touches inbounds, it's a violation on the retouch. Please help with the rule or case book here.

Thanks.
No rule against dribbling out of bounds, just big potential for a screw up, I think. 9-2-10: The thrower shall not be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 06:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,627
What you are looking for is in the Simplified and Illustrated Book at the top of page 58 picture 2.
The text states: "9-2-2 In (1), No. 10 commits a throw-in violation when the throw-in pass strikes the floor out of bounds. In (2), it is not a violation when No. 4 bounces the ball on the out-of-bounds area before making the throw-in."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1