The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 38
Team A is throwing in the ball. Team B guarding the pass makes contact with the ball when a "baseball" pass was being used. The ball was still in the Team A's hand. What should the call have been? Does the call change if the ball had crossed the end-line before the contact was made?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Husker John
Team A is throwing in the ball. Team B guarding the pass makes contact with the ball when a "baseball" pass was being used. The ball was still in the Team A's hand. What should the call have been? Does the call change if the ball had crossed the end-line before the contact was made?
If it had cross the plane of the in-bounds line, regardless of end-line or side-line, it's a legal touch, and might be a held ball, or an oob swat, or whatever.

If the ball is behind the plane, it's a technical foul, although I don't know how often I'd actually call it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1