The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
I am Confused Here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
By rule, no. Consider this play:

A1 jumps to shoot, gets fouled in the air, and releases the shot after she lands. Would you want to count that? There has to be some point where the try ends and a new one starts.

The rule says traveling causes the ball to become dead, and makes no exception for shooting fouls. A dead ball cannot score.
Sorry I am confused....If the foul is on the ball handler who is in the act of shooting, how does the shooter then travel and lose the opportunity for a made bucket? I would imagine that to be a difficult explanation to the offensive coach....your man was fouled, but then he traveled....Please explain.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
your man was fouled, but then he traveled.....
I think that is a concise and commendable explanation.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 11:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
Sorry I am confused....If the foul is on the ball handler who is in the act of shooting, how does the shooter then travel and lose the opportunity for a made bucket? I would imagine that to be a difficult explanation to the offensive coach....your man was fouled, but then he traveled....Please explain.....
Let me ask you the alternative, then. In the play to which you responded, would you allow that basket? I can explain this very quickly to a coach.

I've found that coaches will generally (not always) be ok with your explanation if you have one. The fact is, this is a rare play anyway.

The rule is pretty clear, though. Ball is dead on an offensive violation. Basket cannot count because a dead ball can't score.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction/Interference on same play umpharp Softball 57 Sun Jun 08, 2008 08:47pm
Another Obstruction play... Andy Softball 56 Sat Jul 15, 2006 06:37pm
Play with Obstruction Duke Softball 18 Sat May 28, 2005 01:14pm
OBR Obstruction: B becomes A - Play mikebran Baseball 10 Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1