The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 11:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 83
Unhappy

R1 only. No outs.

Hard groundball single, R1 rounds 2nd and is OBSTRUCTED by SS, as charging RFer has scooped and preparing to throw.

(Obviously, this is type B obstruction). Baseumpire makes the call and makes mental decision to PROTECT this runner into 3rd. and moves into position as throw is made to 3rd, a catch, a slide, a tag, a (what?).

Now in real time, the thirdbaseman, who knows he just tagged this runner 4 inches off the bag now alertly throws to 2nd to play on the advancing batter runner.

QUESTION in the form of a comment:

BU observing the tag of R1 that would be and OUT cannot CALL out, so he calls "TIME" and announces the obstruction and places R1 at third. But does this then make the throw to 2nd irrelevant, and is the placement of the B-R simply based on the umpires opinion as to WHERE B-R would have ended up?

(assumption: umpire would err on the side of allowing B-R second).

assumption 2: if someone is going to say that the play at third REQUIRES a call of "OUT" first, I'd like to see "documentation".

More: flashback from lists from the past, but isn't this an example of Type B "becoming" Type A?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 09, 2005, 07:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
No, once the Obstruction is "B" type it remains "B" until the play is finished. An example of "A" would be R1 leaving 1st, getting bumped by F4 (not making a play). Ball fielded by F5 who throws to F6 covering 2nd. This is obstruction of a runner with a play being made on that runner.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 09, 2005, 08:22am
Michael Taylor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When you have type b obstruction you let it go until all play has ceased or there is an out made on the obstructed runner before reching his protected base. I remember all type a turns b some years back but the fact is it is always one or the other. When you kill it as in your play then yes the throw to second didn't happen. You place to where you think they should be.

Pro interp:
Under this section of the obstruction rule, the obstruction is to be signaled by the umpire pointing
laterally at the obstruction while calling loudly and clearly, "That's obstruction." The ball is not
dead, however, and the umpire shall allow play to continue until all play has ceased and no
further action is possible (see exception in NOTE (1) below). At that moment, the umpire shall
call "Time" and impose such penalties, if any, that in the umpire's judgment will nullify the act
of obstruction. It is important to note that in cases occurring under this section of the obstruction
rule, the umpire shall not call "Time" until all action has ceased and no further play is possible.
NOTE (1 ): If a runner is obstructed under this second section of the obstruction rule, play is to
proceed to completion-even if it results in a play later being made on the runner who was
previously obstructed. However, if such a play on a previously obstructed runner results in that
runner actually being tagged out before reaching the base to which he would have been awarded
because of the obstruction, the umpire shall in that case call "Time" at the moment the runner is
tagged out. The umpire shall then impose such penalties that will nullify the obstruction, which
will include, of course, the obstructed runner being awarded the base to which he would be
entitled because of the obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 10, 2005, 06:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Calling time immediately upon the out at 3B makes sense. I don't see how it could be any other way. But what about placement of the BR? If F5's throw to 2B was in time to get the BR, it's hard to say he would have reached 2B. There's not much "doubt" to give the "benefit" of. Do we then place him back at 1B?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 04:18pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
What is "Type A" and "Type B" obstruction?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
What is "Type A" and "Type B" obstruction?
This refers to where obstruction is covered in the OBR rulebook. There are 2 sections in 7.06 (section a and section b) defining the 2 types of obstruction. Check out that section and read this thread again, so the stuff makes sense to you.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 11:05pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Does any of it apply to NFHS rules?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Does any of it apply to NFHS rules?
All obstruction in NFHS is "Type B"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 11:37pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Does any of it apply to NFHS rules?
NFHS has an obstruction rule so some of this applies. However, NFHS has only one type of obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 12:01am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by largeone59
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Does any of it apply to NFHS rules?
All obstruction in NFHS is "Type B"
In FED, obstruction is always a delayed dead ball. That may be what you mean by type B. But in OBR a type B would not necessarily mean a runner who was obstructed advances and in FED a runner who has been obstructed always advances. So this statement is a tad mis-leading.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 279
Correct. I was just trying to relate NFHS with the previous discussion on this thread. But yes, read the rule book for all the details and such of the rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1