![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Going back to the original video, I'm not sure it's a foul. I can't tell whether he moves his knee after he takes his stance. If he didn't slide his knee into the path of the dribbler, I'd say no foul. I can't say for sure, but if he just lined up, planted and held, then I'd say his stance with within "normal" range, and he gets benefit for a good defensive play. But if his knee slides at all toward the dribbler, then it's a no-brainer.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
|
Right, but I don't think the defensive stance in the video is unnaturally wide. I guess I didn't say that very well.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, was this a woman working this game? Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Ok Ok....now you all have me questioning this call more than I had previously (which is a good thing if I can learn from it). Can we run through the different scenieros for a moment.
Option 1. Assumption his knee extended and W5 didn't travel we have what C has in the video. A block and two shots correct? Option 2. With the assumption that I was wrong on the "wider than normal" stance or the knee (which I easily could have been) but the assumption that W5 didn't travel, then we just have a no call on a shot correct? Option 3. A no call on the block, and a travel = a travel Option 4. A blocking foul, but a travel by W5 after the foul, then we have what Snaq mentioned earlier with a rare situation where because the travel created a non-legal shot attempt we award White the ball on the baseline. Correct? What would be the proper mechanic for Option 4? Blow, fist, waive off shot, block signal, point baseline then report? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
For #4, if the act of shooting begun prior to the foul, but the travel occurred before the release, then you would have a blocking foul and 2FTs. The try would not count because it was not legal. I've called this exactly once in fifteen years of officiating. I elected to signal in this order: 1. fist up for the foul, 2. give the block signal, 3. wave off the shot, 4. pointed to the shooter's feet and signaled a travel, 5. indicated two shots. I gave the coach of the shooting team a quick verbal explanation after reporting to the table. I simply told him that although his player was fouled in the act of shooting, I couldn't count the basket because the goal wasn't made legally because the kid traveled first. He accepted it and we went ahead with the FTs. I have to credit this forum for helping me get that one. I would never have been so smooth and confident about it, if I hadn't discussed the situation here before, and known in my mind how to call it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I've never seen this called, either, and just kinda wondering ....
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
|
What doesn't count? The travel? The foul? The shot?
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
A1 jumps to shoot, gets fouled in the air, and releases the shot after she lands. Would you want to count that? There has to be some point where the try ends and a new one starts. The rule says traveling causes the ball to become dead, and makes no exception for shooting fouls. A dead ball cannot score.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstruction/Interference on same play | umpharp | Softball | 57 | Sun Jun 08, 2008 08:47pm |
| Another Obstruction play... | Andy | Softball | 56 | Sat Jul 15, 2006 06:37pm |
| Play with Obstruction | Duke | Softball | 18 | Sat May 28, 2005 01:14pm |
| OBR Obstruction: B becomes A - Play | mikebran | Baseball | 10 | Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:07pm |