The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member

Big mess in my biggest game!

I'm in my third year, and I'm not yet working varsity. I did get my best schedule yet this year, almost all boys JV. The best matchup I have this year is the biggest school in our area at the one city school in our area last Friday night. They are probably two of the three best varsity teams in our 24-team league this year, and both JV teams are pretty good too. So I was really looking forward to this one.

I was in a good mindset because I had what I felt was an outstanding game two nights earlier. For this game, I had a good, experienced partner and we had a good pregame.

We got underway and the home coach was on us from the beginning. The gym was at least half full and it was fairly loud, so he could get away with more volume in his voice than normal because there was a lot of noise in the gym. The first chance I got to talk to him, he was complaining about contact on a rebound and he wanted a foul. I told him I saw it but I thought the contact was incidental and didn't affect his guy. His response? "Incidental huh? Since you are going to use words like that, let's see how much incidental contact you call tonight?" I didn't really understand him but so be it. I felt like I gave him a chance to have a civil conversation about what each of us saw, and he chose to be a whiner instead, so I decided to give up on that.

Later in the first, I am lead. H1 is attempting a three from my corner. V2 is jumping out at him. I can't get deep enough (wall four feet behind end line) so I'm pretty much looking at waist down because V2 looks like he might land under H1. He doesn't and the shot is coming up short as my partner calls a foul. From the trail opposite, probably 50 feet away. Ugh.