The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:19pm
Moe Moe is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
State Championship Game mess up

Official calls a foul on the baseline on team A. 9th team foul and teams line up for 1 and 1 by team B. As the teams line up the other official who is admistering the free throw indicates two shots at the same time trail official is holding up the 1 and 1. I'm not sure if he thought the foul was in the act of shooting or that there was 10 fouls. Shot goes up and player from team B grabs an uncontested rebound and makes a basket. Whistle blows and player start to argue if it was two shots or 1 and 1. My question is what do you do now. The officials in this game got together and decided to take away the basket and go to an AP arrow which had team A getting the ball at the baseline. Was this the right proceedure.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:24pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moe
... Whistle blows and player start to argue if it was two shots or 1 and 1...
This a casebook play so how to remedy the situation is not that difficult. But what I want to know is did the officials really argue or this just an exxageration?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:29pm
Moe Moe is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Players argued not the officials.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:32pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moe
Players argued not the officials.
Ooops, my bad.

My reading skills must be deteriorating.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Yes, since B-1 was the only player to rebound the ball and have an uncontested layup. Going to the AP is correct.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
See 8.6.1 for the case play covering the situation.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
1. Tell the player to shut up.
2. Go to the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
OFFICIALS PROVIDE ERRONEOUS INFORMATION
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)



But what if it isn't and the player who got the rebound scored first as in the OP? I don't see any provision in the rules for cancelling that goal.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
OFFICIALS PROVIDE ERRONEOUS INFORMATION
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)



But what if it isn't and the player who got the rebound scored first as in the OP? I don't see any provision in the rules for cancelling that goal.
Exactly, which is why the reference at the end of the ruling it reads (2-3).

Cancel the basket, go to the AP, they did. IMO, they handled it correctly.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
So, if the isn't stopped right away, but the throw-in is completed and the ball is advanced to the division line where a foul occurs and only then is it brought to the attention of the officials are you still going to invoke 2-3 and cancel the goal?

What exactly is your timeline here?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quite honestly, it could be very difficult to kill it before the same thing happens that happened above. If it can be killed before the throw-in begins, I've got no problem handling it that way. Most likely, someone's going to be raising hell before it even gets to that point.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Mar 05, 2007 at 09:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
OFFICIALS PROVIDE ERRONEOUS INFORMATION
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)



But what if it isn't and the player who got the rebound scored first as in the OP? I don't see any provision in the rules for cancelling that goal.

Rule 2 Officials and Their Duties
Section 10 Correctable Errors


Article 1: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:

a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

Article 2: In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.


Article 3: If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball.

Article 4: If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.

Article 5: Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Errors because of free-throw attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 8-2.


THe basket should have counted and Team A gets the ball at the endline. No wrong player or basket or no awarding an unmerited free throw. Points count and the offiicals just take the heat.

Last edited by iref4him; Tue Mar 06, 2007 at 11:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by iref4him
Rule 2 Officials and Their Duties
Section 10 Correctable Errors


Article 1: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:

a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

Article 2: In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.


Article 3: If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball.

Article 4: If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.

Article 5: Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Errors because of free-throw attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 8-2.


THe basket should have counted and Team A gets the ball at the endline. No wrong player or basket or no awarding an unmerited free throw. Points count and the offiicals just take the heat.
DING...we have a winner!
__________________
"Be 100% correct in your primary area!"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by iref4him
THe basket should have counted and Team A gets the ball at the endline. No wrong player or basket or no awarding an unmerited free throw. Points count and the offiicals just take the heat.
That's not what the Fed wants us to do. They want us to get the play right. Whether you kill it before or after the rebound before or after a shot, get it right. That's why the rule reference is 2-3.

Do what you will. But not me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I agree with Tony's statement about the FED wanting us to get this right, but I believe that in order to implement the course of action outlined in the casebook, the officials need to blow a whistle and kill the play BEFORE the goal is scored. I have a hard time cancelling this goal even under 2-3, if the whistle isn't sounded until after it goes through the basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incredible mess at end of game Mark Padgett Basketball 32 Fri Apr 07, 2006 07:57am
State Championship Game lildani14 Softball 15 Fri Jul 23, 2004 01:46pm
Washington State Girls Championship Ron Pilo Basketball 15 Thu Mar 20, 2003 05:37pm
State Championship Ron Pilo Basketball 5 Wed Mar 08, 2000 03:36am
State Championship Followup!!!!! YEEEEEHAAAAW Ron Pilo Basketball 2 Mon Mar 06, 2000 07:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1