![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway . if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers ! ![]()
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Quote:
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1's attempt doese not enter the basket or touch the ring. RULING: The violations by B1 and A1 constitute a simultaneous free-throw violation. Unless another free throw follows, play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from a designated spot outside the end line. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Where did you get that? It explicitly does matter if more FTs follow. Just shoot the next free throw with everyone on the lane and play on.
|
|
|||
Ok, some examples...
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts (a) the first free throw of a 1&1 (b) the 1st free throw of a 2 shot foul (c) the 2nd free throw of a 2 shot foul. However, in all situations, A1's attempt does not enter the basket or touch the ring.
Rulings: Situation A: Cancel the attempt and resume play with the AP. Situation B: Cancel the attempt and administer the 2nd free throw. Play will resume from here. I.e. if good, throw-in for Team B; on a miss Team A/B may get the rebound, etc. Situation C: Cancel the attempt and resume play with the AP. Does this help? Last edited by tjones1; Thu Jan 14, 2010 at 04:17pm. Reason: Removed "the free throw" at the end of (c) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Quote:
One of the differences from a true POI situation is that the simultaneous violations could occur while the shooting team is in control of the ball, but that doesn't matter. |
|
|||
Quote:
And next; if the thrower A1 violates again( miss the rim, foot in the lane etc..) that violation negates the AP arrow and ball to B ?
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Quote:
We only go to the arrow if there is NOT another free throw. |
|
|||
O K , I did note the "unless " but wasn't sure how to interpret it , the easiest way might have been best ! some of you guys were obviously trying to tell me, thanks
__________________
Upward ref |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Newbies quiz | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 23 | Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:00pm |
You make the call (for newbies) | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 6 | Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:31am |
Another one for newbies | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 34 | Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:44am |
Another you make the call for newbies | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 7 | Sat Jan 31, 2009 08:36am |
Newbies Point of View | schmitty1973 | Football | 14 | Fri Dec 03, 2004 02:06pm |