![]() |
|
|
|||
Well... it can't be goaltending as the defender never touched the ball. 4-22
So the only other thing it could be is basket interference - which it isn't as Snaq pointed out. Therefore, it's a T or play-on. Check out 10.3.4 Situation |
|
|||
If they make a legitimate attempt to block the shot, then no call. The key here is which side of the basket did the defender hit the backboard. If he hit it on the side which the ball is, then 9 out of 10 times no call. If it's opposite side, then it is always a Technical for unsporting, and count the basket if it goes in (wait for ball to go in before blowing whistle).
EDIT: more like 99 out of 100 times no call. |
|
||||
Quote:
Also, there is no need to wait for the ball to go in before blowing the whistle. Once the shooting motion has begun, a T on the defense does not cause the ball to become dead. Once the shot is released, a T on the offense doesn't even cause the ball to become dead.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
* Unless it is a T that needs to be dealt with immediately to avoid any further problems. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
||||
I don't GAF what the coach thinks here. A quick "the shot was in the air" will be enough.
Now, chances are, you're not going to hit the whistle on this until it's through, given the timing of it all. But if you call this T, he's either going to challenge you by saying he was trying to block the shot or he's going to be pissed at his player. He's not going to question the basket counting.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
This is one of the most misunderstood rules in the game of basketball.
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Did I Hear Somebody Say, "Most Misunderstood Rule" ???
Quote:
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Very good discussion.
That's such a tough call because of the speed of the game and the judgment involved, but I am with you guys, I tend to let the kids try to block the shot and if they make contact on the board while attempting, so be it. |
|
||||
Quote:
![]() As Rut pointed out previously, if there's any question, it's a no-call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Just to add...
Interp from 2000-2001: SITUATION 5: A1 steals the ball from B2 and is on a breakaway. B3 is attempting to catch A1 but is trailing the play. As A1 attempts a lay up, B3 tries to block the shot and fails. During B3’s attempt to block the shot, his/her hand slaps the backboard. RULING: Even though the contact with the backboard was very obvious, it was not an intentional act and would not be ruled illegal. COMMENT: No doubt the coach and spectators of Team A will protest that a technical foul should have been called on B3. The covering official must base his/her decision on the intent of the play. (10-3-6) |
|
|||
Play-On is soccer, not basketball :-)
|
|
|||
It works quite well in basketball too. It's especially useful when the table blows the horn during play.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Variation of ball Contacting Runner | Chewy | Softball | 1 | Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:47pm |
BR contacting ball in Batters box | softball_junky | Softball | 12 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 05:22pm |
Contacting a thrown ball during a throw in | All_Heart | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:12pm |
Contacting backboard........ | zebra44 | Basketball | 3 | Sat Jan 08, 2005 04:29pm |
Contacting The Backboard | pbrad59 | Basketball | 11 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:26pm |