Contacting the Backboard?
Tough bang banger the other night...Wanted to get your thoughts and a rules citation...
A1 goes up for layup...B1 is following on fast break and attempts to block the shot. B1 does not touch the ball but does make significant contact with the backboard while the ball is on way up.
Coach goes crazy wanting a goaltending or basket interference call because the ball comes off rim. Trail had it all the way to the basket, does not blow anything.
In my estimation, it was the correct call because there is no penalty if the defensive player is making a legitimate attempt to block the shot.
However, what if the striking of the backboard causes the ring to move? Do you call that basket interference as if the defender had made contact with the ring?
|