![]() |
|
|
|||
Contacting the Backboard?
Tough bang banger the other night...Wanted to get your thoughts and a rules citation...
A1 goes up for layup...B1 is following on fast break and attempts to block the shot. B1 does not touch the ball but does make significant contact with the backboard while the ball is on way up. Coach goes crazy wanting a goaltending or basket interference call because the ball comes off rim. Trail had it all the way to the basket, does not blow anything. In my estimation, it was the correct call because there is no penalty if the defensive player is making a legitimate attempt to block the shot. However, what if the striking of the backboard causes the ring to move? Do you call that basket interference as if the defender had made contact with the ring? |
|
|||
Well... it can't be goaltending as the defender never touched the ball. 4-22
So the only other thing it could be is basket interference - which it isn't as Snaq pointed out. Therefore, it's a T or play-on. Check out 10.3.4 Situation |
|
|||
If they make a legitimate attempt to block the shot, then no call. The key here is which side of the basket did the defender hit the backboard. If he hit it on the side which the ball is, then 9 out of 10 times no call. If it's opposite side, then it is always a Technical for unsporting, and count the basket if it goes in (wait for ball to go in before blowing whistle).
EDIT: more like 99 out of 100 times no call. |
|
||||
Quote:
Also, there is no need to wait for the ball to go in before blowing the whistle. Once the shooting motion has begun, a T on the defense does not cause the ball to become dead. Once the shot is released, a T on the offense doesn't even cause the ball to become dead.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
* Unless it is a T that needs to be dealt with immediately to avoid any further problems. |
|
|||
This is one of the most misunderstood rules in the game of basketball.
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Did I Hear Somebody Say, "Most Misunderstood Rule" ???
Quote:
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Very good discussion.
That's such a tough call because of the speed of the game and the judgment involved, but I am with you guys, I tend to let the kids try to block the shot and if they make contact on the board while attempting, so be it. |
|
|||
Play-On is soccer, not basketball :-)
|
|
|||
It works quite well in basketball too. It's especially useful when the table blows the horn during play.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Don't call it. It would be hard to tell if the rim moved at all, and if it does, it is a mere vibration that could be caused by a lot of different things.
|
|
|||
I just wanted to point out that it would be hard to see any vibration of the rim because of a slap on the backboard. But you are right, it is not against the rules to slap the backboard as long as it is an apparent legitimate attempt to block the shot.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Variation of ball Contacting Runner | Chewy | Softball | 1 | Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:47pm |
BR contacting ball in Batters box | softball_junky | Softball | 12 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 05:22pm |
Contacting a thrown ball during a throw in | All_Heart | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:12pm |
Contacting backboard........ | zebra44 | Basketball | 3 | Sat Jan 08, 2005 04:29pm |
Contacting The Backboard | pbrad59 | Basketball | 11 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:26pm |