The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
ps

FIBA does not use POI
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater View Post
I am trying to wrap my head around a question in the FIBA rules exam presented by CABO this year. I thought I would post it here and allow for some discussion. You don't have to agree or disagree with the answer jsut looking to discuss.

Q: A1 and B1 commit a double foul. B1's foul is judged as disqualifying. Shall free throws be awarded to A1? Y or N (Answer is N)

From the exam administrator I received the following regarding the logic.
In FIBA rules all DOuble fouls cancel and no free throws shall be awarded. Art 35.2

This is how I will administer should the situation ever come up by the way.

Now here is my problem in the learning process. The question (stupid if you ask me) does not say both fouls are equal and in FIBA a disqualifying foul Art 37 (flagrantly unsproting action) has a different penalty than a personal foul. So, I can understand cancelling equal penalties but this was not the case as I understand the question. Also Art 42.2.2 supports the cancelling of equal penalties and then administering what is left over.

Dang what am I missing in this.
Smoke,

The answer is in your post. "In FIBA rules all Double fouls cancel and no free throws shall be awarded. Art 35.2"

Sometimes it is not for us to question the logic behind a rule but just know what it is and enforce it correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jallen View Post
this is a good question and does happen. In Fiba equal gravity fouls cancel. Double fouls go back to the team in control as in the case of most double fouls. However, in this case one foul is disqualifying so the other team shall have the ball at center for a throw in and can use both courts to inbound the ball. Questions may seem stupid until the time they happen and then what?
last night we called an unsportsman foul on team A followed by two Techs on Team B. what cancels here?
That's an easy one...
Team A Unsportmanlike & 1st Team B Technical cancel.

Any Team A player shoots 2 FTs for the 2nd Team B Technical and Team A gets the ball at the division line for the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another question for those who officiate FIBA Jay R Basketball 5 Sun Dec 14, 2008 07:01pm
FIBA rules question jallen Basketball 2 Sun Oct 19, 2008 04:01pm
FIBA Question Teigan Basketball 17 Tue Nov 20, 2007 05:01pm
FIBA Question Odd Duck Basketball 23 Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:46pm
Question for FIBA officials Jimgolf Basketball 11 Mon Sep 04, 2006 03:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1