The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathuc View Post
I've had that happen before. You should not charge him with a time out because of your error (unless he requests one during the dead ball time). Own up to it and be honest about it. ESPECIALLY since your scorer confirmed that he was not requesting a time out...
I actaully think I would of done this. But he did not say a thing to me; he just took the time out. The way it was going with this guy, (first game was an A game and I gave him a T) I was surprised he didn't complain. But his B team was winning and it was almost over.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Everybody's had this happen. I would not force a time out on the coach if he didn't request one: it's an IW, go to POI and play on.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 06:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
Side Out ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Everybody's had this happen. I would not force a time out on the coach if he didn't request one: it's an IW, go to POI and play on.
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;
or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonehead play of the week. OHBBREF Basketball 35 Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:03pm
Bonehead Umpire blueump Baseball 9 Thu May 12, 2005 12:59am
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
My bonehead PSK...... chris s Football 0 Sun Oct 26, 2003 07:40pm
Bonehead play of the week Mark Padgett Basketball 3 Wed Dec 20, 2000 02:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1