The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:23am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Slapping the backboard

I guess this is a rule that should be covered every year, several times a year.

Last night I was at the Lead when a shot went up. After the shot missed, my partner (the C) blew his whistle and gave the indication to count the basket. He was directly in front of the offending team's bench and things became animated for a second.

One of the things I cover in pregame is we are not going to kick a rule on the court and come into the locker room to discuss it. We will slow things down, ask each other about questionable rules applications and fix things on the court to the largest extent possible.

Anyway, I went to him and asked him what he had. He told me the player slapped the backboard - of course it had to be without legitimately attempting to block the shot - and that is why he counted the basket. I told him that it should be a technical foul if that is what he judged to have happened.

I will leave the rule quotation to someone else (my friend from up north), but I think this is a case of taking the path of least resistance. It is very easy to count the basket and move on except...it isn't justified by rule.

A Side Note: I followed my rule - be nice until it is time to not be nice.
I asked both coaches to remain in their box because both were out of the box arguing calls. I also asked them to move two chairs that we admittedly should have taken care of before the game. Of course, one coach didn't move the chairs forcing me to do it and of course I ended up giving them both a T.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun View Post
I guess this is a rule that should be covered every year, several times a year.

Last night I was at the Lead when a shot went up. After the shot missed, my partner (the C) blew his whistle and gave the indication to count the basket. He was directly in front of the offending team's bench and things became animated for a second.

One of the things I cover in pregame is we are not going to kick a rule on the court and come into the locker room to discuss it. We will slow things down, ask each other about questionable rules applications and fix things on the court to the largest extent possible.

Anyway, I went to him and asked him what he had. He told me the player slapped the backboard - of course it had to be without legitimately attempting to block the shot - and that is why he counted the basket. I told him that it should be a technical foul if that is what he judged to have happened.
I will leave the rule quotation to someone else (my friend from up north), but I think this is a case of taking the path of least resistance. It is very easy to count the basket and move on except...it isn't justified by rule.

A Side Note: I followed my rule - be nice until it is time to not be nice.
I asked both coaches to remain in their box because both were out of the box arguing calls. I also asked them to move two chairs that we admittedly should have taken care of before the game. Of course, one coach didn't move the chairs forcing me to do it and of course I ended up giving them both a T.
So did he change his call or leave it as is....???
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:29am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
How did the discussion in locker room go afterward? What'd your trail have to say about the play?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:33am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
How did the discussion in locker room go afterward? What'd your trail have to say about the play?
It wouldn't even matter what the Trail thought. The "C" kicked a rule. It wasn't a matter of judgement.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:35am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It wouldn't even matter what the Trail thought. The "C" kicked a rule. It wasn't a matter of judgement.
I was assuming there was a mini discussion on the court with the trail giving his input on the rule application.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
So what did you do? Inadvertent?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 11:45am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by j51969 View Post
So did he change his call or leave it as is....???
Yes, he gave a T

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
How did the discussion in locker room go afterward? What'd your trail have to say about the play?
We talked about the play at halftime, but it was pretty simple: he would have kicked a rule if he didn't change it. He was someone flustered all night. Now, this official is on my crew (we are divided into crews for our meetings) and he looked pretty good at the scrimmages when I observed him. But last night he wasn't clicking. He had a block/charge where the ball went in. He started a motion to count the basket and then went with a charge. It was ugly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
So what did you do? Inadvertent?
This is my philosophy and it has worked often. If something happens and I'm not sure of what we are about to do I will ask. I think it is worth delaying things for a few seconds to prevent the crew from kicking a call.

I had a college game earlier this year where a foul was called near the division line and I was the Lead. The foul was on the offense and we were going down court to shoot. I went to the calling official and asked him if there was team control at the time of the foul - I think he called the foul during a deflected pass (I wasn't looking directly at the play). As soon as I asked the question, the light went on and we took the ball out of bounds.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 12:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I had the same play a couple of years ago. We had a lengthy discussion on the subject here.

Communication to get call straight
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 12:56pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun View Post
Yes, he gave a T
And no bucket, right?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 01:21pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
And no bucket, right?
The ball did not go in, but if it had it would still count.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 01:26pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun View Post
The ball did not go in, but if it had it would still count.
Right... but he was talked out of "basket interference".
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2009, 07:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,670
Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slapping the Backboard: POE Spence Basketball 43 Wed Sep 17, 2008 02:57pm
Slapping the backboard rbruno Basketball 22 Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:05pm
Slapping the Backboard rpirtle Basketball 22 Wed Feb 05, 2003 10:16am
slapping backboard BigDave Basketball 24 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:53pm
Slapping Backboard tschriver Basketball 2 Tue Nov 20, 2001 10:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1