The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 11:50am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainbrian View Post
It was during an NCAA game, so the players can leave their space on the release. The foul was while getting position for the potential rebound, but the referee said after the ball went in to still count the bucket. That being said, to clarify, I don't think there should have been a dead ball technical called.

The referees then talked for a good length of time between themselves and both coaches, and then decided to give B2 a 1-and-1 and not not allow A2 her second shot. So this was incorrect?
Not necessary, and an NCAA ref should know better. Now, if he said "after the release," that's different.

The question isn't what the official said, however; it's what actually happened. From your clarification, it seems as if the foul happened after the release but before the ball went in.

A2 should have been given her second shot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 03:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainbrian View Post
My question is more wondering if A1 gets to shoot her second free throw or not.
Ahem!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not necessary, and an NCAA ref should know better. Now, if he said "after the release," that's different.

The question isn't what the official said, however; it's what actually happened. From your clarification, it seems as if the foul happened after the release but before the ball went in.

A2 should have been given her second shot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
To be totally pedantic...

* If the foul occurred before the release, the ball is dead immediately and no free throw can be scored. Report the foul, clear the lane, the shooter will re-shoot the free throw that was interrupted, and if made will shoot the "and 1". Then go shoot for the new foul.
* If the foul occurred after the release, but before the ball goes through the basket, the ball remains live until the try ends, count the basket. Report the foul, clear the lane, the shooter gets the second free throw. Then go shoot for the new foul.
* If the foul occurred after the ball passed through the basket, the ball is dead and unless the contact is deemed intentional or flagrant it is ignored.

In all cases the original free throw shooter is entitled to shoot all of the free throws that were originally awarded.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul on a Free Throw stosh Basketball 17 Sun Nov 15, 2009 04:31pm
Double Foul During Free Throw cropduster Basketball 63 Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am
Foul During Free Throw MRIGUY Basketball 6 Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:29pm
foul during free throw just another ref Basketball 7 Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:51pm
foul on free throw bigwhistle Basketball 24 Thu Jan 12, 2006 02:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1