![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you don't use the moment that the administering official places the ball at the disposal of the thrower, making it live per 6-1-2b, as your point of no return and determination of when team members are "participating" (as defined by the NFHS in 10.5.3), then you have absolutely no standard by which to decide when it is too late to cancel all of the action. To further make my point, consider the following: Would you assess a T if the mistake was caught while: a. the thrower was holding the ball and yet to attempt to pass it inbounds b. the thrower had passed the ball, but no inbounds player had yet to touch it c. the throw-in pass had been caught inbounds by a teammate of the thrower d. the throw-in pass had been caught inbounds by an opponent of the thrower e. the throw-in pass had been caught inbounds by A2 and he had not yet dribbled f. same as e, except now the player had dribbled for 2 seconds g. same as f, except make it eight seconds h. play continued for only four seconds, but a player committed a foul i. play continued for ten seconds and a goal was scored by the team with six team members on the floor. j. same as i, but it took only two seconds for Team A to score a goal Where do you draw the line, if you don't follow the rules book and the case book? |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interesting situation | Refsmitty | Basketball | 28 | Wed Apr 29, 2009 08:48pm |
| Interesting situation | som44 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Mar 05, 2005 05:02pm |
| Interesting situation. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 27 | Tue Feb 22, 2005 05:41pm |
| Interesting Situation 2 | Rar | Basketball | 14 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 03:17pm |
| Interesting situation | devdog69 | Basketball | 34 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:54am |