The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member

3-man officiating

I've been working 2-man officiating for a couple years, and I've been assigned my first 3-man game next week.

Any general advice that may be helpful?

One area of particular interest is the rotation of the Lead to move ball side (which I believe forces the C and U to adjust as well). I wouldn't think that the Lead would rotate ball side every time the ball moves around the perimeter.

Thanks!
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member

I am yoyoing between junior varsity (2 person) and varsity (three person) now. Two biggest challenges.

1) Don't catch yourself as lead peaking to the corner for the three point shot..

2) As lead, rotating to ballside happens alot more often in three person mechanics.

Oh yeah, as C on the press; don't find yourself counting the 10 second count
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 10:29pm
Aleve Titles to Others

Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
There is a manual that outlines how the 3 crew mechanics work. But it is very likely that your partners have experience and will help you along.
Old Mon Dec 07, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member

Pregame

Make sure you have a real good pregame with your partners. People have different philosophys when and when not to flex as lead. Try to watch your area only. It will be hard at first but remember what line is yours on OOB situations. Also here is some tid for tat that may help you but like was said read your manual.

1: Stay in your Area
2: Only one official should have a 5 sec count (If a 5 sec. count begins in your primary you stay with the count until the count is broken. At this time the new primary official will pick up the count.
3: If you have a drive from your primary, you have it all the way to the hoop.