The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 03, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 27
I see/call this every year and the coach goes nuts. When a player comes down with the ball and one foot in the front court before the second foot in the back court, the pivot foot has been established and the violation must be called.

For some reason coaches believe the player has the chance to come down with the long rebound without regard to the mic-court line.

We'll see if this year is different...will probably see it tonight in my GV game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 03, 2009, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by offici88 View Post
I see/call this every year and the coach goes nuts. When a player comes down with the ball and one foot in the front court before the second foot in the back court, the pivot foot has been established and the violation must be called.

For some reason coaches believe the player has the chance to come down with the long rebound without regard to the mic-court line.

We'll see if this year is different...will probably see it tonight in my GV game.
Coaches think that way because a player is allowed to do that when receiving a throw-in, making a defensive steal, or securing a jump ball. They don't make the distinction that a player is specifically granted an exception during those actions, but not in this one.

I've never understood why the NFHS treats the situation with a long rebound differently because it is just another situation in which there is no team control before the airborne player secures the ball. However, the NFHS has made it clear over the past couple of years that there is no exception granted for securing a rebound and landing in the backcourt. I don't like it, but that's the way it is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 03, 2009, 04:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 03, 2009, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.
Me too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 03, 2009, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arteisa, NM
Posts: 36
Simply, no.

From reading your post, a simple deflection off of a players hand does not mandate team control, therefore, there is no back court violation.

Oscar
__________________
I may not always be right, but I am never wrong. Besides, if you disagree with me, that just means you're wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 01:35pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule so maybe that is why but for HS.

to establish frontcourt is it both feet, left and right, or two feet. right foot in and then back into BC and then into FC while left stays in FC. BALL is in FC. Is that FC.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 01:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule so maybe that is why but for HS.

to establish frontcourt is it both feet, left and right, or two feet. right foot in and then back into BC and then into FC while left stays in FC. BALL is in FC. Is that FC.
I'm not sure what you're asking here, but I'll take a crack at it.

Assuming the player is not dribbling, FC gets established as soon as the player with the ball has something touching the FC and nothing touching the BC. So, assuming a player gets the ball straddling the line with one foot down in the BC and one down in the FC, he will have FC status if and when he lifts his BC foot. If he puts it back down, it's a violation.

If no player has control of the ball, it gains FC status as soon as it touches the FC (assuming there's team control by which you would define the FC).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule
Yes FIFA is different. FIFA stipulates that you must play the ball with your feet.

Sorry the soccer referee in me could not let that one pass.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:10am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.
Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?
No. The wording of the rule itself leaves doubt as to whether the bit in parentheses is meant to be all-inclusive or merely provide examples. We had that debate here on the board a few years ago. Some argued that only the situations provided were exempted; others (including me) argued that the provided situations were only examples and that the exception should apply to all situations where a player established team control while airborne. Then NFHS issued 9.9.1D, making it clear the parenthetical situations were meant to be all-inclusive.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Here's the thread with the initial discussion.Throw-in/Backcourt violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 01:19pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I would like to see the phrase "from the team not in control" removed from this rule. This is still confusing, as proven when we discussed (beat to death?) the numerous situations where neither team is in control yet the end of the play can still be a backcourt violation.

9-9-3: (revised) A defensive player, or any player during a jump ball or throw-in, may jump from his frontcourt, secure control etc.........


Do we agree that the defensive player exception still applies when there is no team control yet established after a throw-in?

A1's throw-in pass glances off the hands of A2. B1 leaps from his frontcourt, intercepts the pass and lands in his backcourt. Ruling: legal play

Even though there is no team control and no definition of defensive player, (but there was something obscure somebody quoted from a case play, maybe) I still consider B1 to be a defensive player in this circumstance.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by offici88 View Post
I see/call this every year and the coach goes nuts. When a player comes down with the ball and one foot in the front court before the second foot in the back court, the pivot foot has been established and the violation must be called.
The pivot foot is irrelevant to the BC violation.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:06am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The pivot foot is irrelevant to the BC violation.
Thank you.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt or no? jcurtin Basketball 9 Fri Dec 31, 2004 07:32pm
Backcourt runupdown Basketball 19 Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:17pm
Help on backcourt Back In The Saddle Basketball 10 Wed Dec 15, 2004 04:37pm
Backcourt ronny mulkey Basketball 3 Sat Dec 04, 2004 04:00pm
Backcourt?? Rock'nRef Basketball 6 Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1