The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:10am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.
Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?
No. The wording of the rule itself leaves doubt as to whether the bit in parentheses is meant to be all-inclusive or merely provide examples. We had that debate here on the board a few years ago. Some argued that only the situations provided were exempted; others (including me) argued that the provided situations were only examples and that the exception should apply to all situations where a player established team control while airborne. Then NFHS issued 9.9.1D, making it clear the parenthetical situations were meant to be all-inclusive.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 10:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Here's the thread with the initial discussion.Throw-in/Backcourt violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2009, 01:19pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I would like to see the phrase "from the team not in control" removed from this rule. This is still confusing, as proven when we discussed (beat to death?) the numerous situations where neither team is in control yet the end of the play can still be a backcourt violation.

9-9-3: (revised) A defensive player, or any player during a jump ball or throw-in, may jump from his frontcourt, secure control etc.........


Do we agree that the defensive player exception still applies when there is no team control yet established after a throw-in?

A1's throw-in pass glances off the hands of A2. B1 leaps from his frontcourt, intercepts the pass and lands in his backcourt. Ruling: legal play

Even though there is no team control and no definition of defensive player, (but there was something obscure somebody quoted from a case play, maybe) I still consider B1 to be a defensive player in this circumstance.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt or no? jcurtin Basketball 9 Fri Dec 31, 2004 07:32pm
Backcourt runupdown Basketball 19 Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:17pm
Help on backcourt Back In The Saddle Basketball 10 Wed Dec 15, 2004 04:37pm
Backcourt ronny mulkey Basketball 3 Sat Dec 04, 2004 04:00pm
Backcourt?? Rock'nRef Basketball 6 Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1