![]() |
|
|||
The pivot foot is irrelevant to the BC violation.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
Here's the thread with the initial discussion.Throw-in/Backcourt violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
I would like to see the phrase "from the team not in control" removed from this rule. This is still confusing, as proven when we discussed (beat to death?) the numerous situations where neither team is in control yet the end of the play can still be a backcourt violation.
9-9-3: (revised) A defensive player, or any player during a jump ball or throw-in, may jump from his frontcourt, secure control etc......... Do we agree that the defensive player exception still applies when there is no team control yet established after a throw-in? A1's throw-in pass glances off the hands of A2. B1 leaps from his frontcourt, intercepts the pass and lands in his backcourt. Ruling: legal play Even though there is no team control and no definition of defensive player, (but there was something obscure somebody quoted from a case play, maybe) I still consider B1 to be a defensive player in this circumstance.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule so maybe that is why but for HS.
to establish frontcourt is it both feet, left and right, or two feet. right foot in and then back into BC and then into FC while left stays in FC. BALL is in FC. Is that FC. |
|
||||
Quote:
Assuming the player is not dribbling, FC gets established as soon as the player with the ball has something touching the FC and nothing touching the BC. So, assuming a player gets the ball straddling the line with one foot down in the BC and one down in the FC, he will have FC status if and when he lifts his BC foot. If he puts it back down, it's a violation. If no player has control of the ball, it gains FC status as soon as it touches the FC (assuming there's team control by which you would define the FC).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Sorry the soccer referee in me could not let that one pass. ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt or no? | jcurtin | Basketball | 9 | Fri Dec 31, 2004 07:32pm |
Backcourt | runupdown | Basketball | 19 | Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:17pm |
Help on backcourt | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 10 | Wed Dec 15, 2004 04:37pm |
Backcourt | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 3 | Sat Dec 04, 2004 04:00pm |
Backcourt?? | Rock'nRef | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm |