The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Blum View Post
My question is what happens if the ball is kicked by B before touching anyone legally in bounds? Because 4-42 art.5 states that a throwin ends in three different ways:
  1. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
  2. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7. End line throwin following a goal or awarded goal.
  3. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
Team A gets the ball for an AP throw-in.
B1 kicks the throw-in pass.
A kick is not a legal touch, therefore the throw-in did not legally end.
Since the throw-in did not legally end, the arrow is not changed.
Team A now gets the ball for a throw-in because of the kick.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternating Possession ? JasonTX Basketball 8 Thu Dec 14, 2006 08:35am
Alternating Possession Arrow Change RedRef Basketball 105 Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:47am
Alternating Possession? johnnyrao Basketball 1 Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:19pm
Alternating Possession Arrow shont Basketball 5 Wed Nov 03, 2004 05:00am
Alternating possession arrow donj Basketball 3 Wed Nov 05, 2003 03:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1