The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 07:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,238
I don't know that there's a rules reference for this, but if in doubt, it was a 2.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 09:00pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
If you're really not sure and one coach wants a 3 while the other wants a 2, just split the difference and call it a 2 1/2. Then everybody's happy.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
If you're really not sure and one coach wants a 3 while the other wants a 2, just split the difference and call it a 2 1/2. Then everybody's happy.
I was about to suggest that you possessed Solomon-like wisdom, until I realized that Solomon would have solved it by ordering both coaches to be cut in half.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 02:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 153
OK, BITS that made me laugh and then I thought cutting coaches in half is not a bad solution to some issues.
__________________
CALL WHAT YOU SEE AND SEE WHAT YOU CALL
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 03:43am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
If you're really not sure and one coach wants a 3 while the other wants a 2, just split the difference and call it a 2 1/2. Then everybody's happy.
The benefit of this ruling is that it dramatically increases the probability of.... no overtime!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 04:02am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
The key on this play is if a crew member has definite knowledge whether the the try was a 2 or 3 pt. attempt. If you aren't sure, then you have to go with whatever the calling official has.

I think we all need to help on the last second shot and certainly use the monitor if it is available to you.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 05:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
The key on this play is if a crew member has definite knowledge whether the the try was a 2 or 3 pt. attempt. If you aren't sure, then you have to go with whatever the calling official has.

I think we all need to help on the last second shot and certainly use the monitor if it is available to you.
If you don't have definite knowledge of a 3 point try, than it's a 2 point bucket.

Replay may only be used during a state/province championship.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't know that there's a rules reference for this, but if in doubt, it was a 2.
I had a partner mention this once. It sounded odd, but I didn't think twice about it. Is this something that came from the rule change of adding the three point line? Any other reason why this is the case, as opposed to the opposite?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Not sure if this is a definitive interpretation for the OP, but I think it’s enough to say that the officials can use the scorer and time when ever needed.

5.10.1 SITUATION D: There are six seconds left on the clock in the fourth quarter and the ball is out of bounds in the possession of Team A. The throw-in by A1 touches the referee on the court and then goes across the court and out of bounds. The timer permits two seconds to run off the clock. What recourse does the coach of either team have in such situation? RULING: Either coach may step to the scorer’s table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach’s rule. The referee shall come to the sideline and confer with one or both coaches and the timer about the matter; and if the referee has definite knowledge that there were six seconds on the clock when the ball was awarded to Team A for the throw-in, it is the responsibility of the referee to have the two seconds put back on the clock. The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-11- 3 Exception b; 5-8-4; 10-5-1c)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 05:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,508
Does It Have To Be A 60 Second Timeout ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
Not sure if this is a definitive interpretation for the OP, but I think it’s enough to say that the officials can use the scorer and time when ever needed. 5.10.1 SITUATION D... Either coach may step to the scorer’s table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach’s rule...The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-11- 3 Exception b; 5-8-4; 10-5-1c)
Good citation, but I have a slightly off topic question. What rule requires that the coach request, or be charged with, a 60 second time out to correct such an error or mistake? I copied these citations from a recent thread (Thanks Nevadaref):

In the 2003-04 book it was 10-5-1 (b and c):
b. Confer with personnel at scorer's table to request a 60-second time-out for a correctable error, as in 2-10.
c. Confer with personnel at scorer's table to request a 60-second time-out to prevent or rectify a timing or scoring mistake or alternating possession mistake.

In 2004-05 it was changed:
10-5-1(b) Confer with personnel at scorer's table to request a 60-second time-out (or one 30-second time-out if that is the only type of time-out remaining) for a correctable error as in 2-10, or to prevent or rectify a timing or scoring mistake or alternating possession mistake.

In 2005-06 it was reorganized and clarified:
10-5-2 The head coach may also confer with personnel at scorer's table to request a 60-second time-out (or one 30-second time-out if that is the only type of time-out remaining) for a correctable error as in 2-10, or to prevent or rectify a timing or scoring mistake or alternating possession mistake.

In 2008-09 it was changed to the current version:
10-5-1(c) The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer’s table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4.


Note that any language specifically referring to a 60 second, or a 30 second, timeout has been eliminated.

Inquiring minds want to know.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 15, 2009 at 05:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Well, 5.11.3 says
. . . Only one 60-second time-out is charged (or one 30-second timeout, if that is the only type of time-out remaining) in 5-8-4 regardless of the amount of time consumed when no correction is made.
EXCEPTION: No time-out is charged:
a. If, in 5-8-3, the player’s request results from displaced eyeglasses or lens.
b. If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.

And 5-8-4 says…
Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:
. . . Responds to the scorer’s signal to grant a coach’s request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer’s table where a coach of each team may be present.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 07:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,508
One 60 second timeout (or one 30 second timeout) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
5.11.3 Only one 60-second time-out is charged (or one 30-second timeout, if that is the only type of time-out remaining) in 5-8-4 regardless of the amount of time consumed when no correction is made. EXCEPTION: No time-out is charged:
a. If, in 5-8-3, the player’s request results from displaced eyeglasses or lens.
b. If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.
Great citation. Thanks. I've been looking at this for almost a week. I wonder why they took the 60 second, or 30 second language out of 10-5-1? I wish that the NFHS would highlight all language changes, not just major rule changes.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 15, 2009 at 07:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
I had a partner mention this once. It sounded odd, but I didn't think twice about it. Is this something that came from the rule change of adding the three point line? Any other reason why this is the case, as opposed to the opposite?
My understanding is that yes, this evolved with the addition of the three point line. A three is only a three if the official signals that it is a three point shot, even if the shot is taken from mid court. Failing to signal a three point shot is a CE for failing to count or cancel a score and must be corrected within the CE time frame. And if there is doubt whether it was a two or three point shot, it is a two. If there is no three point line painted on the floor (and there are a few out there still, like the little church gymnasium I work in occasionally), there can be no three point shots.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of period....... DrMooreReferee Football 6 Fri Jul 22, 2005 04:18pm
End of a period batreferee Basketball 6 Mon Jan 26, 2004 05:10pm
HS "T" after end of period Bart Tyson Basketball 7 Wed Feb 26, 2003 11:44am
End of period shot/tap ChuckElias Basketball 3 Fri Oct 18, 2002 03:19pm
End of Period tribeast13 Basketball 2 Sun Nov 04, 2001 08:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1