The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 06, 2009, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Need help with my own question!

Was writing some questions for a quiz for my local association and wrote one I couldn't comfortably answer with rules back-up. Its really bad to get caught being wrong in front of a whole association.

Here is the question: During warm-up for a varsity game, the officials note that a player for the home team is wearing a jersey with the number 17. The referee informs the home coach that the player will not be allowed to participate in the game while wearing that jersey. Was the referee correct?

My orginal thought was that the player could play after a technical foul for an illegal uniform was assessed and the coach seatbelted and it would only happen when she tried to enter the game. After some reading in the rule and case books, I'm not so sure.

Whats your take on this?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.

Last edited by ranjo; Fri Nov 06, 2009 at 07:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 06, 2009, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,048
Don't have my books with me either, so, here it goes: if the official notices before the 10 minute mark, the coach can still do something about it. After the 10 minute mark, you are correct, don't penalize until he/she enters the game. It is a T Foul charged directly to the coach. The T also adds one to the team total. The coach is seated for remainder of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 06, 2009, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Don't have my books with me either, so, here it goes: if the official notices before the 10 minute mark, the coach can still do something about it. After the 10 minute mark, you are correct, don't penalize until he/she enters the game. It is a T Foul charged directly to the coach. The T also adds one to the team total. The coach is seated for remainder of the game.
What confused me was 3.5.6 Sit.A where players who entered wearing compression shorts below the pants were not allowed to play until the illegal items were removed. The compression shorts it seems are treated as player equipment while the jersey falls under uniform rules.

Anybody else agree or disagree?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 06, 2009, 09:46pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
I thought John Havlicek had retired long ago.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 06, 2009, 09:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,421
Nfhs 10-5-4 ...

The head coach shall not permit a team member to participate while wearing an illegal uniform (see 3-4). PENALTY: (Section 5) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in. The foul is charged directly to the head coach. (Art. 4) Penalized when discovered. Only one technical foul is charged regardless of the number of offenders.

NFHS 3-4-3-d: The following numbers are legal: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 00, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55. A team member list shall not have both numbers 0 and 00.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 07, 2009, 05:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
What confused me was 3.5.6 Sit.A where players who entered wearing compression shorts below the pants were not allowed to play until the illegal items were removed. The compression shorts it seems are treated as player equipment while the jersey falls under uniform rules.

Anybody else agree or disagree?
No.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 07, 2009, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
Whats your take on this?
I'm doing this from memory, so the specific rules might be off, but:

"Wearing apparel" (my term) is covered under two rules -- 3-4 and 3-5. The penalty for violating 3-4 is a T. The penalty for violating 3-5 is "you can't play."

The general reasin is that it relatively easy to change the items in 3-5; not so easy for 3-4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1