The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Am I reading 9-1-3(g) correctly?

A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane marked by the lane line or either neutral zone line (2 X 36 or 12 X 36) but can break the vertical plane (with either foot) that would make up the back of their 36 X 36 lane space.
..."The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36" lane space."

As I read it they want one foot positioned "near" the free throw lane line and the other maybe positioned anywhere, but within the 36" x 36" designated lane space.

The word "near" is subjective.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
..."The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36" lane space."

As I read it they want one foot positioned "near" the free throw lane line and the other maybe positioned anywhere, but within the 36" x 36" designated lane space.

The word "near" is subjective.
My curiosity is about breaking the vertical plane (with either foot) on the back side of the 36 X 36 lane space prior to the ball touching the ring, backboard or the FT ending.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
My curiosity is about breaking the vertical plane (with either foot) on the back side of the 36 X 36 lane space prior to the ball touching the ring, backboard or the FT ending.
Asked and answered. It's not allowed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Asked and answered. It's not allowed.
Since I'm not busy, let me ask another question.

I believe you and understand that it is not allowed. It just makes sense. But, am I misreading 9-1-3(g) or is this something that has been decided outside of the ruling in 9-1-3(g)?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Since I'm not busy, let me ask another question.

I believe you and understand that it is not allowed. It just makes sense. But, am I misreading 9-1-3(g) or is this something that has been decided outside of the ruling in 9-1-3(g)?
You're not misreading it. You're misinterpreting it.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're not misreading it. You're misinterpreting it.
Like I said I'm not busy and I'm trying to get my post count up to 8,000 , so here goes my interpretion. Where am I missing the back lane space boundary?

". . . outside edge of any lane boundary" = that bounded by the lane line itself

". . . (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane space mark" = that bounded on the left or right of a player as marked by the 2X8 lane space marking.

". . . (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone." = that bounded on the left or right of a player as marked by the 12X8 neutral zone marking.

I can't find (interpret) what it takes to violate the 4th boundary.

Last edited by Scratch85; Tue Nov 03, 2009 at 03:04pm. Reason: added the word edge to first interp
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
9-1-3

g. A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary, or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane-space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone. A player shall position one foot near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line. The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space.

This statement, along with...

d. No player shall enter a marked lane space or leave a marked lane space by contacting the court outside the 36-inch by 36-inch space.

...pretty much says it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
My curiosity is about breaking the vertical plane (with either foot) on the back side of the 36 X 36 lane space prior to the ball touching the ring, backboard or the FT ending.
Thats correct, they can not break the vertical plane. I had to do a double take on that as well.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT Lane Spaces Johnny Ringo Basketball 17 Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:27am
lane spaces phansen Basketball 4 Tue Apr 03, 2007 04:21am
Lane spaces? fan Basketball 26 Tue Nov 07, 2006 02:58am
FT Lane Spaces... JohnBark Basketball 1 Sun Nov 21, 2004 05:22pm
New FT lane-spaces ?s Nevadaref Basketball 5 Sun Apr 27, 2003 10:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1