The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lane Spaces (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55270-lane-spaces.html)

Scratch85 Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:31am

Lane Spaces
 
Am I reading 9-1-3(g) correctly?

A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane marked by the lane line or either neutral zone line (2 X 36 or 12 X 36) but can break the vertical plane (with either foot) that would make up the back of their 36 X 36 lane space.

Indianaref Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 634343)
Am I reading 9-1-3(g) correctly?

A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane marked by the lane line or either neutral zone line (2 X 36 or 12 X 36) but can break the vertical plane (with either foot) that would make up the back of their 36 X 36 lane space.

..."The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36" lane space."

As I read it they want one foot positioned "near" the free throw lane line and the other maybe positioned anywhere, but within the 36" x 36" designated lane space.

The word "near" is subjective.

Scratch85 Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 634352)
..."The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36" lane space."

As I read it they want one foot positioned "near" the free throw lane line and the other maybe positioned anywhere, but within the 36" x 36" designated lane space.

The word "near" is subjective.

My curiosity is about breaking the vertical plane (with either foot) on the back side of the 36 X 36 lane space prior to the ball touching the ring, backboard or the FT ending.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 634359)
My curiosity is about breaking the vertical plane (with either foot) on the back side of the 36 X 36 lane space prior to the ball touching the ring, backboard or the FT ending.

Asked and answered. It's not allowed.

Scratch85 Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 634360)
Asked and answered. It's not allowed.

Since I'm not busy, let me ask another question.

I believe you and understand that it is not allowed. It just makes sense. But, am I misreading 9-1-3(g) or is this something that has been decided outside of the ruling in 9-1-3(g)?

mbyron Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 634368)
Since I'm not busy, let me ask another question.

I believe you and understand that it is not allowed. It just makes sense. But, am I misreading 9-1-3(g) or is this something that has been decided outside of the ruling in 9-1-3(g)?

You're not misreading it. You're misinterpreting it. ;)

Scratch85 Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 634372)
You're not misreading it. You're misinterpreting it. ;)

Like I said I'm not busy and I'm trying to get my post count up to 8,000 :), so here goes my interpretion. Where am I missing the back lane space boundary?

". . . outside edge of any lane boundary" = that bounded by the lane line itself

". . . (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane space mark" = that bounded on the left or right of a player as marked by the 2X8 lane space marking.

". . . (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone." = that bounded on the left or right of a player as marked by the 12X8 neutral zone marking.

I can't find (interpret) what it takes to violate the 4th boundary. :confused:

IREFU2 Tue Nov 03, 2009 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 634359)
My curiosity is about breaking the vertical plane (with either foot) on the back side of the 36 X 36 lane space prior to the ball touching the ring, backboard or the FT ending.

Thats correct, they can not break the vertical plane. I had to do a double take on that as well.

Vinski Tue Nov 03, 2009 01:30pm

9-1-3

g. A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary, or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane-space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone. A player shall position one foot near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line. The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space.

This statement, along with...

d. No player shall enter a marked lane space or leave a marked lane space by contacting the court outside the 36-inch by 36-inch space.

...pretty much says it.

Adam Tue Nov 03, 2009 01:44pm

Actually, it's the part of article g not highlighted in red that addresses the vertical plane. Article d refers to the body parts other than the feet. They may extend beyond the vertical plane but may not touch the floor outside the defined lane space.

Vinski Tue Nov 03, 2009 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 634400)
Actually, it's the part of article g not highlighted in red that addresses the vertical plane. Article d refers to the body parts other than the feet. They may extend beyond the vertical plane but may not touch the floor outside the defined lane space.

I believe he was having problems identifying a ruling that specifically talks about a foot hanging over the back boundary. The non-red text of g. talks about the front and sides. The last sentence in g addresses all four sides as far as a foot hanging over.
I just highlighted the part in d to emphasize that nothing can touch the floor. (Probably didn’t need to include this).

Scratch85 Tue Nov 03, 2009 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski (Post 634396)
9-1-3

g. A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary, or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane-space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone. A player shall position one foot near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line. The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space.

This statement, along with...

d. No player shall enter a marked lane space or leave a marked lane space by contacting the court outside the 36-inch by 36-inch space.

...pretty much says it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 634400)
Actually, it's the part of article g not highlighted in red that addresses the vertical plane. Article d refers to the body parts other than the feet. They may extend beyond the vertical plane but may not touch the floor outside the defined lane space.

Bear in mind, I am not arguing that it is legal. But if as Snaq says (and I agree) that the part of Vinski's post that is not highlighted is what addresses breaking the vertical plane. Where does it describe the vertical plane at the back of the 36 X 36 lane space?

If the part in red applies to breaking the plane, then that is the only statement we need. Both feet would have to be positioned within the 36-inch lane space, until 9-1-4.

And, the part in red is the only new part to 9-1-3(g). Does that mean that last year you could break the imaginary plane on the back of the lane space

I may get to 8000 on this thread. :D

SmokeEater Tue Nov 03, 2009 02:30pm

Maybe you should ask yourself first why would anyone want to break the vertical plane at the back of the lane space.

Adam Tue Nov 03, 2009 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski (Post 634396)
9-1-3

g. A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary, or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane-space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone. A player shall position one foot near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line. The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space.

This statement, along with...

d. No player shall enter a marked lane space or leave a marked lane space by contacting the court outside the 36-inch by 36-inch space.

...pretty much says it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 634411)
Bear in mind, I am not arguing that it is legal. But if as Snaq says (and I agree) that the part of Vinski's post that is not highlighted is what addresses breaking the vertical plane. Where does it describe the vertical plane at the back of the 36 X 36 lane space?

If the part in red applies to breaking the plane, then that is the only statement we need. Both feet would have to be positioned within the 36-inch lane space, until 9-1-4.

And, the part in red is the only new part to 9-1-3(g). Does that mean that last year you could break the imaginary plane on the back of the lane space

I may get to 8000 on this thread. :D

I highlighted, in red, the relevant portion, that has always prohibited having either foot extended beyond the vertical plane of all four boundaries. Just because the boundary isn't marked doesn't make it any less of a boundary.

The new stuff means the following: A player may not stand with both feet to the rear of the lane space; one foot must be "near" the front.

Also relatively new, the verbiage that prevents a player from touching the floor, outside his space, with any part of his body other than the feet (which were already prevented by the "vertical plane" wording.)

Scratch85 Tue Nov 03, 2009 02:49pm

Snaq:

So my first interpretation in post#7 is incorrect?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1