![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Like you said, it’s a HTBT situation. However, the thing to remember is in order for a dribble to happen, the ball has to be controlled. In the original situation, you would pretty much have to judge if the knocking the ball to the floor was an attempt to gain control or if it was a purposeful bat/push to the floor. You see this sort of action a lot in lower level ball. If it was an attempt to gain control, then that wasn’t a dribble.
In variation 1 you said A2 controls the ball with one hand. That would be a dribble. In variation 2 it is more than likely not yet a dribble. |
|
|||
|
Girls do this often
I coach girls, and see the first example given rather often. Particularly JV or below, not as much with varsity. Instead of catching the ball, female players will frequently deflect a low (below the waist) pass straight down to the floor, then catch it off the bounce, and play as though they still have their dribble. I'd guess that I see this occur once or twice in the majority of youth league or JV games. I've always thought this looked like a double dribble, but I've never seen it called that way in a game.
I am always emphasizing both passing and catching with two hands. I think this may be why I rarely see my kids catch like this. Last edited by bbcoach7; Mon Nov 02, 2009 at 01:08am. |
|
|||
|
Correct. The dribble has to be done WHILE IN CONTROL. I would not consider either of your situations to be a violation. If you wouldn't grant a time-out to this team during the time that the player batted/pushed the ball to the floor, but prior to catching it, then you are not deeming the player to be in control, and thus should not call a violation.
|
|
|||
|
Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
As an oft-misunderstood basketball rule:
During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be an illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble. As a short reminder: Fumble, dribble, fumble. (legal)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Can continue to dribble, yes. But, the player cannot recover (grab, hold) the ball and then dribble.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Dribble fumble dribble? | Clark Kent | Basketball | 20 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:35pm |
| just starting out!!!! | hailblue22 | Baseball | 5 | Mon Mar 05, 2007 09:33am |
| dribble/fumble/dribble | scat03 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm |
| Just Starting | kwill | Basketball | 7 | Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:48pm |
| OT, Starting 5? | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 18 | Thu Jan 29, 2004 09:40am |