The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
My thought is that a technical should never be called on the defense for reaching across the plane and touching the ball in the player's hands.

As soon as the plane is crossed, the ref should blow their whistle stopping the play and issue the warning (for first offense). You gotta be real quick, though!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 12:35pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You ARE joking right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
You ARE joking right?
Yes, I am. But, theoretically, if it was a real slow reach in and a real fast whistle, you could catch it before it happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
Yes, I am. But, theoretically, if it was a real slow reach in and a real fast whistle, you could catch it before it happens.

You could, but you'd be wrong to do so. There's a specific case play or interp that covers this -- get the "end action" not the "earlier violation."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 06:14pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Two Run The Endline Situations ???

Let's say we have a "run the endline" throwin. Team A has the ball.

1) Throwin player A1 attempts a throwin pass across the lane, not quite parallel to the endline, to teammate A2, who in just barely inbounds. After A1 releases the ball on the throwin, defensive player B3 crosses the plane of the endline, without stepping out of bounds, and steals the throwin pass. What do you have?

2) During a "trick" play, throwin player A1 attempts a pass across the lane, to teammate A2, who is also out of bounds. After A1 releases the ball on the "trick" play pass, defensive player B3 crosses the plane of the endline, without stepping out of bounds, and steals the "trick" play pass. What do you have?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Let's say we have a "run the endline" throwin. Team A has the ball.

1) Throwin player A1 attempts a throwin pass across the lane, not quite parallel to the endline, to teammate A2, who in just barely inbounds. After A1 releases the ball on the throwin, defensive player B3 crosses the plane of the endline, without stepping out of bounds, and steals the throwin pass. What do you have?

2) During a "trick" play, throwin player A1 attempts a pass across the lane, to teammate A2, who is also out of bounds. After A1 releases the ball on the "trick" play pass, defensive player B3 crosses the plane of the endline, without stepping out of bounds, and steals the "trick" play pass. What do you have?
This is where the NFHS rules break down. We have to determine if A1 intended to make a throwin or to make a pass to a teammate who was OOB or was expected to be OOB, perhaps by the time the ball got there. In one case, this would be a T on B3 and legal in the other case.

In the NCAA, it is still not perfect, but it is closer...it would be a T or a violation depending on the official's judgment but it would never be a legal play until the ball crosses the line.

In the NCAA rules, there is no dilemma for the defender...whether it is legal to go for the ball or not...whether the official's judgment will agree with theirs or not...they simply can't touch the ball until it crosses the line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 26, 2009, 10:11am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
When Did The Throwin End ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
This is where the NFHS rules break down. We have to determine if A1 intended to make a throwin or to make a pass to a teammate who was OOB or was expected to be OOB, perhaps by the time the ball got there. In one case, this would be a T on B3 and legal in the other case.
Camron Rust: It appears that you, like me, agree that situation 1 (above) is legal, but that situation 2 can be confusing according to the NFHS definition of when the throwin pass ends. I was really hoping that a Forum member could come up with a casebook play, annual interpretation, or rules exam question that would clear up the ruling on Situation 2.

NFHS 4-42-5: The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7 (Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary).

NFHS 9-2-10: The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.

By definition, we know when the throwin ends. When does the throwin pass end? In Situation 2, does the throwin pass end after the first pass by A1, or after the second pass, by A2? In my opinion, I believe that the throwin doesn't end until after the second pass by A2, thus making the across the endline steal by B3 illegal, and a technical foul, but I would like to have further rulebook, or casebook, backing to defend my opinion.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Sep 26, 2009 at 02:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
My thought is that a technical should never be called on the defense for reaching across the plane and touching the ball in the player's hands.

As soon as the plane is crossed, the ref should blow their whistle stopping the play and issue the warning (for first offense). You gotta be real quick, though!
This has been discussed extensively on the board. This is not how the rule is written, and not how it's enforced. If you reach over and contact the ball, it's a technical.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
My thought is that a technical should never be called on the defense for reaching across the plane and touching the ball in the player's hands.

As soon as the plane is crossed, the ref should blow their whistle stopping the play and issue the warning (for first offense). You gotta be real quick, though!
Only for 8U.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw violation -- why do we use the plane? bradfordwilkins Basketball 1 Thu Mar 05, 2009 01:46pm
Defense reaching through plane on throw in. Damian Basketball 30 Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:30pm
Technical on defense during Throw in? jritchie Basketball 1 Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:53pm
Player breaking the OOB plane.....what's the call? GregAlan Basketball 21 Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:35pm
Throw-in plane PP Basketball 8 Sun Feb 10, 2002 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1