The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 18, 2009, 09:14am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto View Post
Here's the NCAA case:

A.R. 175. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?

RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/ her whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall re-administer the throw-in. (Rule 4-31.1 and 7-6.5)

And here's an issue I have with this. Suppose that team B is putting a lot of pressure on the throw-in. You reach 4 seconds when A1 fumbles the ball. Doesn't that give an extra advantage to A, who gets a new 5 second count when you re-administer?
Sounds like a rule the coaches can attempt to hustle us on.
Wondering if the interpretation really means if the thrower fumbles upon receiving the ball & not after it has been in their possession???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
putting ball in play jophyal Basketball 13 Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:17pm
putting ball in play..... scat03 Basketball 8 Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:18am
Putting the ball in play Jay R Baseball 11 Fri Jul 02, 2004 04:44pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
Putting ball into play chris s Baseball 5 Thu Sep 07, 2000 03:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1