The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
Reading the OP and the case play, I don't think we really have a definitive answer. This is a case of where the B player went OOB and picked up the ball. The case play only says what to do when they reach through the boundary and pick it up. What about if she comes OOB without reaching through the boundary, and picks up the ball? You can't issue a warning there because she's not reaching through the boundary per se. I'll just sit back with my popcorn and listen to the comments fly.
So you think there's a difference between "reaching through" the boundary and "crossing" the boundary?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 09:33am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
So you think there's a difference between "reaching through" the boundary and "crossing" the boundary?
Reading the OP, I see a distinct difference in the action. That's why I'm throwing the idea between the two out there and see what everyone has to say. There is no case play for what happened in the OP, and the case play that has been presented doesn't seem to fit the OP. I know Mark makes a good case for the warning because of the prevention of A's ability to make the throw-in, and I would almost go along with that thought process. The OP and the lack of case play basically brings into play some thought process on our part.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
Physical possession of the ball has nothing to do with the play.
You might want to clarify this statement since the rule in question says, "touches...the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate..."

You might have a T on this play if its the second warning. I had this happen once years ago. You HAVE to prevent the defensive player from coming to get the ball. I always say, "this is NOT your ball; don't touch it."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 11:05am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
You might want to clarify this statement since the rule in question says, "touches...the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate..."

You might have a T on this play if its the second warning. I had this happen once years ago. You HAVE to prevent the defensive player from coming to get the ball. I always say, "this is NOT your ball; don't touch it."
What is the consequence of not being a preventative official in this case?

Secondly, there is no "second warning". There is one warning only, and then by rule, if it happens again, it is a T.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
Reading the OP, I see a distinct difference in the action. That's why I'm throwing the idea between the two out there and see what everyone has to say. There is no case play for what happened in the OP, and the case play that has been presented doesn't seem to fit the OP. I know Mark makes a good case for the warning because of the prevention of A's ability to make the throw-in, and I would almost go along with that thought process. The OP and the lack of case play basically brings into play some thought process on our part.
The violation is for B having any part of their body through the plane; it has nothing to do with reaching through. Therefore the violation occurs when B walks out of bounds to pick up the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
I actually had this exact scenario play out this year in a girls JV game. Partner was administering the throw-in. A was late coming back to the floor. Once he put it down and blew his whistle, A came running over to get it. Be then ALSO ran for the ball, and got there first and threw it in. Partner blew his whistle and then looked at me with one of those "What do we have here?" looks. I just turned to the table and issued a warning for delay because it felt like the right thing to do. And, given the book citations in this thread, sounds like we got it right. I forgot to go back and confirm later what the right thing to do was.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong team inbounds just another ref Basketball 18 Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:39pm
Throw-In by Wrong Team Sven Basketball 4 Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:28am
Wrong team gets ball Jim Henry Basketball 38 Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:34am
Wrong team throws in ReadyToRef Basketball 1 Wed Apr 17, 2002 08:44am
Wrong team inbounding ReadyToRef Basketball 14 Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1