![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Case play for NCAA Womens Case book
Here is an case play in support of your OP:
A.R. 84. A1, after: (1) Receiving a pass; or (2) Ending his/her dribble, passes the ball to A2. Before receiving the pass, A2 leaves the area on a cut to the basket. A1 goes to the area vacated by A2 and recovers the ball. RULING: In order for a pass to occur, the thrown ball must be touched by another player. This did not occur in (1) or (2). (1) A1’s attempted pass was the start of his/her dribble. When he/ she recovered the ball and started another dribble, he/she would have committed a violation. (Had A1, after releasing the pass, which was the start of the dribble, not recovered the ball but rather continued to dribble, it would not have been a violation.) (2) A1 had previously ended a dribble before his/her attempted pass to A2. A1’s release of the ball on his/her attempted pass to A2 was the start of a second dribble. When A1 recovered the ball he/she ended the dribble. A1 committed a violation after he/she touched the ball. (Rule 4-21.2 and 9-7.1.c) Hope this helps. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Travel or not? | JB | Basketball | 11 | Tue Oct 31, 2006 02:49pm |
| travel or not? | johnfox | Basketball | 11 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:33pm |
| Travel or Not?? | ref18 | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 21, 2004 08:50pm |
| When is getting up a travel? | CYO Butch | Basketball | 23 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:28am |
| No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 49 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm |