The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:18pm
JB JB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 16
Travel or not?

After ending his dribble, A1 (a) attempting to throw a pass to A2, who had vacated the area on a cut to the basket. A-1 Ran and recovered the ball. Or (b) fumbles, takes two steps and recovers before the ball hits the ground.

In (a) and (b) has A1 travelled?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB
After ending his dribble, A1 (a) attempting to throw a pass to A2, who had vacated the area on a cut to the basket. A-1 Ran and recovered the ball. Or (b) fumbles, takes two steps and recovers before the ball hits the ground.

In (a) and (b) has A1 travelled?
(a)Maybe. The pass by A1 was the start of a second dribble. If he runs and catches the pass attempt before it hits the floor, it's a travel. If he runs and catches the ball after it hit the floor, it's an illegal second dribble.

(b)No
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
I've seen situation B called a travel just about every single time it happens. Looks ugly, but a fumble = loss of control. Can't travel without control. Makes me cringe the same way as when a ref calls a carry for a very high dribble while the dribblers hand is still on top of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
(a)Maybe. The pass by A1 was the start of a second dribble. If he runs and catches the pass attempt before it hits the floor, it's a travel.
4.15.4E(b) indicates this also is an illegal dribble. Either way, though, it's a violation -- and most would expect it to be a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
(a)Maybe. The pass by A1 was the start of a second dribble. If he runs and catches the pass attempt before it hits the floor, it's a travel. If he runs and catches the ball after it hit the floor, it's an illegal second dribble.
Good answer.

I had something similar the other day in a scrimmage. A1 was trapped after he picked up his dribble. He tried to step through the defenders with his pivot foot. Just as his pivot foot touched the floor he dribbled again. I blew the whistle and my first thought was "...errr....travel...? double dribble...??" and I could feel myself going into over-think mode as I got a sudden urge to do the Macarena. Luckily I snapped out of it and gave the travel signal.

It's still early, I'll get better...not so certain about A1 though
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:54pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Good answer.

I had something similar the other day in a scrimmage. A1 was trapped after he picked up his dribble. He tried to step through the defenders with his pivot foot. Just as his pivot foot touched the floor he dribbled again. I blew the whistle and my first thought was "...errr....travel...? double dribble...??" and I could feel myself going into over-think mode as I got a sudden urge to do the Macarena. Luckily I snapped out of it and gave the travel signal.
Just point at A1 and say "You can't f**king do that". It's on p84 of the Mechanics manual.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 01:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
4.15.4E(b) indicates this also is an illegal dribble. Either way, though, it's a violation -- and most would expect it to be a travel.
Agree. Good catch.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Just point at A1 and say "You can't f**king do that". It's on p84 of the Mechanics manual.
That's my problem right there - I used the unapproved "What the **** is wrong with you??!" mechanic.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 58
Now THAT is GOOD material! LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:10am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Ohhhhh Tony.....quiz?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
and I could feel myself going into over-think mode as I got a sudden urge to do the Macarena.
I came on the board this morning with the sole intent of viewing a video clip of Dan doing the Macarena (I mean, he even spells it correctly!) So, how come there's still not one here?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB
After ending his dribble, A1 (a) attempting to throw a pass to A2, who had vacated the area on a cut to the basket. A-1 Ran and recovered the ball. Or (b) fumbles, takes two steps and recovers before the ball hits the ground.

In (a) and (b) has A1 travelled?
While the correct answers have already been provided by JR and Bob J, [(a) illegal dribble, (b) legal play] I thought that I would post a past NFHS Interp regarding this play. Perhaps it will give someone a better understanding of the situation.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS
SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling.
RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
travel clips2 Basketball 26 Fri Oct 06, 2006 03:27pm
Travel? Dan_ref Basketball 25 Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:56am
Not a travel--since when? mplagrow Basketball 19 Fri Feb 13, 2004 01:09pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm
Travel or not williebfree Basketball 1 Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1