The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52076-travel.html)

kzreffin Thu Mar 05, 2009 07:30am

Travel
 
Last night had a girl pick up her dribble and make a pass. The girl she was passing to looked away and cut just before the pass. The passer then retreived her own pass but did not dribble again - she simply went and picked it up. I thought this was similar to a fumble and she was allowed to pick up her pass. What is the ruling and where is this covered in rule book or case book?

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 05, 2009 07:33am

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ravel-not.html

kzreffin Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:18am

Did I stump everyone?
 
One guy said no travel then the post was removed. I am looking for where in the rulebook and casebook I can find this.

SamIAm Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzreffin (Post 585590)
One guy said no travel then the post was removed. I am looking for where in the rulebook and casebook I can find this.

1st) It is a violation.
2nd) I am pretty sure it is a illegal dribble violation. More specifically, it is an illegal start of a dribble.

From the book of Jurassic -
Quote:

a)Maybe. The pass by A1 was the start of a second dribble. If he runs and catches the pass attempt before it hits the floor, it's a travel. If he runs and catches the ball after it hit the floor, it's an illegal second dribble.

kzreffin Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:42am

I saw that answer prior
 
Thanks but I am not sure about this. What is the difference between this and a fumble? What if in the attempted pass the player tries to hold back and the balls kind of slips out and the player retreives it. It all seems similar to a fumble to me.

SamIAm Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzreffin (Post 585601)
Thanks but I am not sure about this. What is the difference between this and a fumble? What if in the attempted pass the player tries to hold back and the balls kind of slips out and the player retreives it. It all seems similar to a fumble to me.

Your OP did not say it might have been a fumble. It said it was a pass. Now you have asked a second question. The OP, plus it might be a fumble.

Concerning the second question. If is was a fumble, A1 can go get her fumble, but not dribble.

The difference between a fumble and an errant pass is your judgement.
My take on the difference is, "a fumble is accidental release of the ball", a pass is "intentional release of the ball". (These descriptions are intended to only apply to the question of was it a pass or was it a fumble.)

Someone in the past has posted a rule of thumb that goes something like this - You can fumble, dribble, fumble but you cannot dribble, fumble, dribble.

kzreffin Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:52am

Thanks
 
Anyone got a rule quote or casebook situation to back it up?

mick Thu Mar 05, 2009 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzreffin (Post 585601)
Thanks but I am not sure about this. What is the difference between this and a fumble? What if in the attempted pass the player tries to hold back and the balls kind of slips out and the player retreives it. It all seems similar to a fumble to me.

The difference is your judgement in determining fumble or control.

I agree with Sam (and Jurassic Ref in abstentia).
Your player ended a dribble and threw the ball to the floor [started a second dribble] and grabbed the ball [ended a second dribble]. Intent to pass has nothing to do with this action. Just consider the act on its own merit.

For guidance, consider Case 4.15.4 Situation C (a) and (b), where throwing a ball against player's own backboard or against an official is compared to throwing the ball against the floor.

Yes, your player may recover a fumble, but from what you described your player got away with an illegal dribble.

Raymond Thu Mar 05, 2009 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzreffin (Post 585601)
Thanks but I am not sure about this. What is the difference between this and a fumble?

Your judgement as an official.

jc147119 Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:00am

Case play for NCAA Womens Case book
 
Here is an case play in support of your OP:

A.R. 84. A1, after:
(1) Receiving a pass; or
(2) Ending his/her dribble, passes the ball to A2. Before receiving
the pass, A2 leaves the area on a cut to the basket. A1 goes
to the area vacated by A2 and recovers the ball.
RULING: In order for a pass to occur, the thrown ball must be
touched by another player. This did not occur in (1) or (2).
(1) A1’s attempted pass was the start of his/her dribble. When he/
she recovered the ball and started another dribble, he/she would have
committed a violation. (Had A1, after releasing the pass, which was
the start of the dribble, not recovered the ball but rather continued to
dribble, it would not have been a violation.)
(2) A1 had previously ended a dribble before his/her attempted pass
to A2. A1’s release of the ball on his/her attempted pass to A2 was the
start of a second dribble. When A1 recovered the ball he/she ended
the dribble. A1 committed a violation after he/she touched the ball.
(Rule 4-21.2 and 9-7.1.c)

Hope this helps.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1