The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
How can you commit a player control foul when you don't have the ball anymore. (airbourn shooter after release) This needs to change to be more like college.
How can A1 jump and release a try and then be fouled before he returns to the floor and be awarded free throws?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2009, 03:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB View Post
How can A1 jump and release a try and then be fouled before he returns to the floor and be awarded free throws?
That is not considered a player control foul. That particular foul is on the defence and therefor a foul in the act of shooting. Has nothing to do with player control which is foul by the guy who HAD the ball and now does not. Help me out if I'm only seeing my side of this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2009, 05:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to Cleefy
I'm not familiar with your rules, however, I'll throw a couple of points into this thread:

1. FIBA will be moving to an Americanized set of rules in 2010 and 2012. Starting with a no-charge semi circle, a rectangular key-way and a 14 and 24 second reset on our shot clock depending on what occurs.

Secondly, I agree with giving a heldball to the defensive team, however, if the held ball is occured after a looseball situation - including a shot, we should simply consult the AP arrow.

Thirdly, I don't know how often this happens in your neck of the woods, and whether you all have a rule about it, but heres what I'd like to see:

Player A1 is close to a boundary line, with the ball, closely guarded by B1. A1 is stuck with no pass, and cannot dribble, so they throw the ball, intentionally off B1. In my book, this should be a turnover by A1, and not an out of bounds by B1...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2009 ASA Rule Changes Approved IRISHMAFIA Softball 51 Thu Nov 20, 2008 09:53am
NCAA 2009 Rule Changes Skahtboi Softball 30 Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:34pm
ASA UIC Clinic 2009 SRW Softball 17 Mon Aug 18, 2008 09:38am
2009 Rule Changes NFHS 3SPORT Softball 36 Fri Jul 04, 2008 03:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1