![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
In both situations the ball becomes dead when the foul occurs. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I think common sense needs to be applied here. The reason the federation changed the rule to make it an unsporting technical foul was because team A is puposely trying to decieve Team B. And in this scenario, that is exactly what is happening. To give Team A the basket (if made) would partially defeat what is trying to be corrected. Granted, Team B still gets the benefit of the "T", but the basket was scored as the result of the unsporting act. If its me, hopefully I recognize this act fast enough to whistle before the shot goes up. Either way, I am taking away the basket. JMO.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
LDUB - I am in total agreement with you. What I am trying to explain to those who are wanting to count the basket, is that the activity (unless flagrant) after the "bark" is to be ignored. For example, a defensive player holding the offensive player on the so-called "inbounds" would be ignored, due to the dead ball already occuring.
|
|
|||
Where does the line get crossed to unsporting? The dog is an old version but I could see lots of variations... flying around like an airplane... or a choreographed dance.
What if the dance is argued that the players are actually giving hand (and feet/hip) signals to call a play? Seriously though, I had a situation once, the ball was handed to A1 below their basket. A2 came down the lane and shouted "No wait, wait I'm going to throw it in..." The ball had already been put at A1's disposal and the 5-count commenced. The B team sagged while A2 came to throw it in... only the inbound pass became a wide open uncontested layup. Would this fall under a similar ruling? |
|
|||
Quote:
Coach: "shot was off before whistle!" Me: "yep - I had a late whistle - sorry coach" ![]()
__________________
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|