The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 28, 2009, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 165
I knew I read an interpretation somewhere that ruled this illegal, so I googled it.

Thanks to Nevadaref's post on the NFHS Board:

Quote:
I have now found a better source of documentation for this ruling. The NFHS put it in print in the 2006-07 Basketball Preseason Guide on page 5.

"Play 1: Late in the game, A2 is inbounding the ball on the end line in his or her own frontcourt. In an effort to deceive the other team, A4 lines up near the sideline on his or her hands and knees and begins to simulate a barking dog. As the Team B players turn to look at A4, A2 throws the ball to A5 who makes an uncontested layup.
Ruling 1: The official shall stop play, wave off Team A's basket and issue an unsporting technical foul to A4. Team B will shoot two free throws and have the ball for a designated-spot throw-in at the division line opposite the table."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1